We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ✨🌟”
Review of Thai Coins

Thai Coins
Ranked #25 of 617 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

You'll be delighted with the food and ambience of this restaurant. Only a few minutes by taxi if you're staying in the centre of town, well worth the journey. BYO wine to compliment the dishes you choose, and there is a beautiful variety of traditional Thai cuisine.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank L1254EIianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I went here based on TA reviews. It's approx 10 minutes drive from Cairns Esplanade. I ordered tom yum soup, papaya salad, deep fried barramundi and sizzling beef. Let's start with the good bits first:
- the waitress that took my order was lovely. In fact all the waitresses appeared to be really friendly.
- the papaya salad was beautiful with the right balance favours.
- the deep fried barramundi with tamarind sauce was excellent. I don't usually eat fish as I hate the "fishy" smell, but this dish was perfect with the sweet and sour tamarind sauce.
Now, the not so great things:
- the tom yum soup was way too salty and sour. I can take salty food but this was too much.
- the sizzling beef was mediocre. The description said 'chilli sauce' but I could not feel any heat.
- service was sloppy at the end. I didn't get the bill until at least 20 minutes after requesting for it, as the first waitress forgot. When I finally got the bill, it was another wait to pay as the counter was crowded with phone/takeaway orders and other people waiting to pay.


Date of visit: August 2016
Thank pnsdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Our friends favourite Thai Restaurant in Cairns, we went with them for an evening meal. In the southern end of town it could be easily missed. Walking in findsvtwo dining areas, basic settings like some cafes in our favourite city, Chiang Mai, friendly staff and a fairly large menu ranging from the three main regions of Thailand, old photos on the walls.
The menu, easy to select from, came out well presented. The food was tasty, though my selection was missing some of the flavours associated with Thai, a little too sweet but not salty or sour. It did not come with lime/lemon to add if needed. Overall the others were happy and the BYO was well received. With more custom and popularity, our friends say it does a great takeout trade, it will be one to look forward to returning to at a future date.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2016

After tossing up a bunch of options we decided to take a drive to Thai Coins. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food was great. Prices were great too so do yourself a favour and check them out.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I always love going here for dinner.
Although have been disappointed with the last two takeaway meals. Last week and again tonight. Pad satay chicken there was not alot of chicken and pad satay Prawns were terrible. Prawns very mushy and powdery. They tasted terrible.
Very disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Thai Coins also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Thai Coins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.