We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be!”
Review of Thai Coins

Thai Coins
Ranked #25 of 617 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We are local and this restaurant used to be a favorite place to eat however this visit was a bit disappointing.
The waitress gave our entree to table next to us and the other customers passed the food over to us!!
Maybe they changed chefs???
We probably won't return anytime soon :(

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank WD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

After reading positive reviews on trip advisor we thought we would give this place a go! The food came out fast and was very delicious. The meals are well priced and service is fantastic!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank livvyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was one of the nicest thai meals I have had. The service was friendly and fast. The meals were hot, fresh and delicious. There were plenty of meat and veggies, not just sauce. It was a very enjoyable meal. I would recommend to everyone. We took our 3 young kids who also enjoyed the food and the water feature inside the restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RLewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We took a taxi from town to Thai Coins, we could have eaten at many many in town Thai ressies, however as we trust Trippie so much, we thought it best to go to it's number 1 Thai place. Taxi was $30 round trip.

We booked a table for 2 about 2 hours proir to arrival.

We arrived and were immediately welcomed by the ever-pleasant owner Mr. Joel, he gave us a lovely wecome and sat us in the small dining room.
As it's BYO here, we were soon having a beer over the menu and making our choices.
We tend to over-order in amount of food, because we want to sample more dishes, so it was no surprise the waitress told us we had.

We went for a different soup each, Thom Yum & Thom Kha, a curry and a stir fry dish with a special fried rice dish.

We soon found out why she warned us! ... our soups arrived and each one was a very large bowl with smaller bowls accompanying! .... Why didn't she explain the soup sizes? ... we thought, as anyone would, we were ordering a portion for one! You could tell who the locals were amongst our fellow diners .... The ones sharing a soup starter!!

The Thom Yum was really nice, but the Thom Kha ? ... That was unbelievably amazing! I've eaten this soup for 30 years, around the globe and yes, in Thailand too, never has it tasted so damn good!

Mains were delicious, and we troughed the lot! . . . just not all of the soup though!

Mr Joel sat with us a couple of times to chat, such a nice host.

Service was a little slow, but ok.

Overall . . . an unassuming little place, really nice food, lovely ambience, friendly owner and wait staff. I can see why a lot of people are happy enough to make it Cairns best Thai.

Worth the extra $30 to eat there instead of in town? ..... Hell Yes! ...I'd pay that just to experience that Thom Kha !

Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Had a great night out here. The food was fantastic & the price was low $15 for the main & $4 for rice. The wait time was very short, large range of options & staff were very friendly. The restaurant was really nicely set out we had a great night here.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank fionac308
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Thai Coins also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Thai Coins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.