We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Candice171
Thornton, Australia

Gorgeous room, hotel was disappointing.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
A 5 star hotel with a great room - stunning room however, the hotel has no soul.

At check in reception did not give us any information regarding the family package booked.

There was no communication of where you even go for breakfast or hotel information.

The room has an iPad for information - it was flat.

The room was not made up for us and even though we booked as a family of 4 we only kept getting 3 towels.

The pool is not heated and this was a huge disappointment as both pools are undercover so no sunlight therefore - freezing.

We went to the hotel’s boardwalk social and had pizza. Please don’t do it to yourself.
We had some amazing food in Cairns and my 9 year old even complained at the cold pizza being served.
We did complain and were given 2 drink vouchers to be used with the onsite Italian restaurant in conjunction with a meal… that was funny.

The buffet breakfast is not that of a 5 star hotel however for the price of 4 people it was tolerated. I wouldn’t pay for it as an extra.

The other disappointing thing about the hotel it has all the tech but my bill wasn’t online.
On only found out that I was changed $250 extra for my package. This still hasn’t been resolved.

Email confirmation was $1741 - $580 a night however the hotel charged us $1991 on arrival for 3 nights.

So my experience was extremely disappointing.

I am sure others have had good ones.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: No heated pool. Buffet breakfast was basic - does not compare to a Sheraton.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Candice,

I am very sorry to hear of your poor experience. I have been in contact with you since and I hope that we have resolved the billing issues. We genuinely appreciate you feedback and will take your comments on board to look at where improvements can be made.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and create a better impression of the hotel.

Kind Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$239
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
AU$265
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$260
  • Novotel
    AU$265
0.2 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Riley, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
AU$306
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$306
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$306
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$250
  • Priceline
  • Hilton
    AU$250
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
AU$234
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$234
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$234
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
AU$188
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
1.3 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
External View
AU$261
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$261
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$275
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$275
  • Priceline
  • Pullman
    AU$275
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
The Pool at the Reef Palms
AU$174
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$186
1.9 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY REFURBISHED SUPERIOR ROOM
AU$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Hotel Website
    AU$164
3.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
126
45
28
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
45
28
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea king urban room through luxury escapes esplanade tower exceptional hotel master room designed rooms yoga mat amazing bed hotel including thoughtful touches girl on reception sea view very clean hotel shower pressure coffee machine light switches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came to this hotel at the last minute after significant issues with a previous booking elsewhere, and I honestly can only view this as an excellent stroke of luck because it meant I got the chance to stay at this lovely hotel. Super helpful and attentive staff, lovely rooms, comfy beds, lovely pools, excellent location - I was sad to leave!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank xji9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi xji9191,

Thank you for such an amazing review! I'm pleased that we were able to create a positive experience out of a negative one.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

Spent five nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The location, right on the Esplanade is perfect. It is a short five-minute walk to the harbour where the boats leave for a trip to the Reef or Green Island, while there are plenty of restaurants / bars right outside the door.
The room (King in the Esplanade Tower) was spacious with a beautiful view of the harbour. Very comfy bed and a big bathroom made it very comfortable.
Breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant and there were plenty of choices. Shout out to Dipak (chef) who was always working hard to make sure the offerings were fresh. Each night we had a drink at the Boardwalk Bar and can highly recommend the frozen Pina Coladas.
It is obvious that they work hard at trying to be environmentally friendly which is admirable BUT maybe they can still provide a DO NOT DISTURB / CLEAN ROOM card, as we came home one night to find the room had not been made up so we had to chase up some towels / coffee pods which was a pain. The people who clean the rooms are fantastic and it was a simple mistake but having that sign on the door would ensure no rooms were missed. Also, for some reason the water runs out of the shower under the glass screen leaving pools of water on the floor which is a little dangerous.
However, would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here either side of a diving trip. The hotel is brand new and the location is excellent, right on the Boardwalk in the centre of town. The 2 "see through" pools were fun and the twin room we had, while small, was in excellent order and comfortable, though the high tech lighting was too clever for its own good.

The website makes a big play about the "boardwalk bar/dining area" but this was a disappointment. It did not open for breakfast as advertised and it was closed at 8:30pm when we went there for a drink. What's the point in having it or promoting it as a destination if it's not open?

Check in staff were very nice and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tony_No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Hi Tony_No,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Crystalbrook Flynn experience. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We value your feedback and will look at how we can make improvements.

We hope to welcome you back soon. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Stayed for 2 nights with a small group of 10 for a business conference. Rooms were great and the conference setup was great for our needs - easy connection and solid audio.

What really stood out for us was the great team that looked after our group - Ananth & Kate went out of their way to cater to all our special requests.

We also enjoyed an exceptional set-course dinner at Flynns Italian Lorenzo who looked after our group here and made us feel like family.

Our group can't wait to return ... big challenge is how we are going to beat this conference experience in the future

Room tip: Set menu dinner at Flynns was a winner for our group
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Hi Chrisgrapevine,

Wow, thank you for such a great review. It's very rewarding to hear that our efforts are recognised. Ananth, Kate and Lorenzo will be very happy with the mentions, I will be sure to pass these on.

We look forward to welcoming you back...sorry for creating more challenges!

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

First rate hotel with a great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities. My wife and i had a 3 night stay during a recent trip to Australia and found the hotel delightful. We had a room on a high floor with a balcony and the view was spectacular.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O6136ERbenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews