We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
I..

Delightful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 May 2024via mobile
I came to this hotel at the last minute after significant issues with a previous booking elsewhere, and I honestly can only view this as an excellent stroke of luck because it meant I got the chance to stay at this lovely hotel. Super helpful and attentive staff, lovely rooms, comfy beds, lovely pools, excellent location - I was sad to leave!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this review
Responded 30 May 2024
Hi xji9191,

Thank you for such an amazing review! I'm pleased that we were able to create a positive experience out of a negative one.

We hope to welcome you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$319
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Premium King plus Single
AU$141
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$115
  • Hotels.com
    AU$138
0.3 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
AU$201
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
  • Hotel Website
    AU$204
  • Vio.com
    AU$204
3.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$295
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Riley, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$342
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Novotel
    AU$337
  • Vio.com
    AU$323
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
External View
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$320
  • Expedia.com
    AU$346
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$159
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cairns Harbourside Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$211
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
1.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
129
46
28
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
46
28
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea king urban room through luxury escapes esplanade tower exceptional hotel master room designed rooms yoga mat amazing bed hotel including thoughtful touches girl on reception sea view very clean hotel shower pressure coffee machine light switches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2024

Spent five nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The location, right on the Esplanade is perfect. It is a short five-minute walk to the harbour where the boats leave for a trip to the Reef or Green Island, while there are plenty of restaurants / bars right outside the door.
The room (King in the Esplanade Tower) was spacious with a beautiful view of the harbour. Very comfy bed and a big bathroom made it very comfortable.
Breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant and there were plenty of choices. Shout out to Dipak (chef) who was always working hard to make sure the offerings were fresh. Each night we had a drink at the Boardwalk Bar and can highly recommend the frozen Pina Coladas.
It is obvious that they work hard at trying to be environmentally friendly which is admirable BUT maybe they can still provide a DO NOT DISTURB / CLEAN ROOM card, as we came home one night to find the room had not been made up so we had to chase up some towels / coffee pods which was a pain. The people who clean the rooms are fantastic and it was a simple mistake but having that sign on the door would ensure no rooms were missed. Also, for some reason the water runs out of the shower under the glass screen leaving pools of water on the floor which is a little dangerous.
However, would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here either side of a diving trip. The hotel is brand new and the location is excellent, right on the Boardwalk in the centre of town. The 2 "see through" pools were fun and the twin room we had, while small, was in excellent order and comfortable, though the high tech lighting was too clever for its own good.

The website makes a big play about the "boardwalk bar/dining area" but this was a disappointment. It did not open for breakfast as advertised and it was closed at 8:30pm when we went there for a drink. What's the point in having it or promoting it as a destination if it's not open?

Check in staff were very nice and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tony_No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Hi Tony_No,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Crystalbrook Flynn experience. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We value your feedback and will look at how we can make improvements.

We hope to welcome you back soon. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Stayed for 2 nights with a small group of 10 for a business conference. Rooms were great and the conference setup was great for our needs - easy connection and solid audio.

What really stood out for us was the great team that looked after our group - Ananth & Kate went out of their way to cater to all our special requests.

We also enjoyed an exceptional set-course dinner at Flynns Italian Lorenzo who looked after our group here and made us feel like family.

Our group can't wait to return ... big challenge is how we are going to beat this conference experience in the future

Room tip: Set menu dinner at Flynns was a winner for our group
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Hi Chrisgrapevine,

Wow, thank you for such a great review. It's very rewarding to hear that our efforts are recognised. Ananth, Kate and Lorenzo will be very happy with the mentions, I will be sure to pass these on.

We look forward to welcoming you back...sorry for creating more challenges!

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

First rate hotel with a great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities. My wife and i had a 3 night stay during a recent trip to Australia and found the hotel delightful. We had a room on a high floor with a balcony and the view was spectacular.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O6136ERbenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The sea view from our 8th floor room was probably the best I've ever seen in any hotel. How I loved that view - especially when the rain poured down outside, as it did a lot of the time during our stay. I could have sat there gawping at it all day: ebbing and flowing tides, cruise ships, tropical gardens, ferris wheel, the lagoon - and all the comings and goings of people going about their business.

The room was not large but very nicely decorated. Bed was super-comfortable. We had a family of chatting parakeets lurking in the shrubbery over the top of our window, which was a lot of fun.

Room amenities: very good, lovely bathroom. Minibar prices - not displayed - turned out to be high. The supply of tea bags was somewhat stingy, with only one bag per variety! Rather than share the one English Breakfast tea bag, we asked Housekeeping for more supplies, and were given the generous extra supply of - two!! Which was never repeated, so we ended up buying our own at a nearby supermarket. Coffee machine: we're really not fans of capsule coffee as it's inevitably tepid, insubstantial and unsatifying. And then there's the environmental impact of those single-use throwaway capsules. George Clooney has a lot to answer for.

March turned out to be a rather out-of-season time when not everything was operational, such as the poolside bar. There was an alternative QR code system on the tables to order drinks by the main pool, but this only works if you have an Australian mobile number, which we don't. Incidentally, the smaller pool on the first floor is warmer than the main one, which was a little chilly. Other facilities were good - we really enjoyed the bars and restaurant.

Breakfast buffet at Flynn's Italian was excellent. Just 2 things let it down: the fact that it was impossible to keep hot food from cooling down very quickly (thanks to unheated plates and over-active ceiling fans), and the capsule coffee machine - yes, another one - which was far too slow and complicated for the number of guests it served. Every morning I joined queues of head-scratching, frustrated, time-poor coffee drinkers trying to figure out how the thing operated. And when it did, the coffee produced wasn't worth the effort. A pot of plunger coffee per table would have been far more efficient and enjoyable.

Overall we had a really pleasant stay here, and would definitely return. During our time in Cairns we didn't see any other place that we would have preferred.

Room tip: The first floor pool is warmer than the second floor one. The hotel is cashless so make sure you're prepared for that.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CoconutLands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews