We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$220
Priceline
AU$212
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
AU$235
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tony_No
Great Missenden, United Kingdom

Brand new, great location but boardwalk bar/restaurant not open.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
Spent 2 nights here either side of a diving trip. The hotel is brand new and the location is excellent, right on the Boardwalk in the centre of town. The 2 "see through" pools were fun and the twin room we had, while small, was in excellent order and comfortable, though the high tech lighting was too clever for its own good.

The website makes a big play about the "boardwalk bar/dining area" but this was a disappointment. It did not open for breakfast as advertised and it was closed at 8:30pm when we went there for a drink. What's the point in having it or promoting it as a destination if it's not open?

Check in staff were very nice and helpful.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Tony_No,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Crystalbrook Flynn experience. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We value your feedback and will look at how we can make improvements.

We hope to welcome you back soon. 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$247
  • Novotel
    AU$296
0.2 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Riley, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
Booking.com
AU$248
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$248
  • Priceline
    AU$232
  • Expedia.com
    AU$248
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$194
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$194
  • Priceline
    AU$182
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
0.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Cairns Destination
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$239
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Vio.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
External View
Booking.com
AU$256
  • Priceline
    AU$257
  • Vio.com
    AU$254
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$214
  • Agoda.com
    AU$138
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
1.9 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Vio.com
    AU$129
  • Expedia.com
    AU$148
1.3 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$161
  • Vio.com
    AU$138
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$85
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
    AU$95
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Expedia.com
    AU$89
2.0 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
126
44
28
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
44
28
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea king urban room through luxury escapes esplanade tower exceptional hotel master room designed rooms yoga mat amazing bed hotel including thoughtful touches girl on reception sea view very clean hotel shower pressure coffee machine light switches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Stayed for 2 nights with a small group of 10 for a business conference. Rooms were great and the conference setup was great for our needs - easy connection and solid audio.

What really stood out for us was the great team that looked after our group - Ananth & Kate went out of their way to cater to all our special requests.

We also enjoyed an exceptional set-course dinner at Flynns Italian Lorenzo who looked after our group here and made us feel like family.

Our group can't wait to return ... big challenge is how we are going to beat this conference experience in the future

Room tip: Set menu dinner at Flynns was a winner for our group
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chrisgrapevine,

Wow, thank you for such a great review. It's very rewarding to hear that our efforts are recognised. Ananth, Kate and Lorenzo will be very happy with the mentions, I will be sure to pass these on.

We look forward to welcoming you back...sorry for creating more challenges!

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

First rate hotel with a great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities. My wife and i had a 3 night stay during a recent trip to Australia and found the hotel delightful. We had a room on a high floor with a balcony and the view was spectacular.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O6136ERbenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The sea view from our 8th floor room was probably the best I've ever seen in any hotel. How I loved that view - especially when the rain poured down outside, as it did a lot of the time during our stay. I could have sat there gawping at it all day: ebbing and flowing tides, cruise ships, tropical gardens, ferris wheel, the lagoon - and all the comings and goings of people going about their business.

The room was not large but very nicely decorated. Bed was super-comfortable. We had a family of chatting parakeets lurking in the shrubbery over the top of our window, which was a lot of fun.

Room amenities: very good, lovely bathroom. Minibar prices - not displayed - turned out to be high. The supply of tea bags was somewhat stingy, with only one bag per variety! Rather than share the one English Breakfast tea bag, we asked Housekeeping for more supplies, and were given the generous extra supply of - two!! Which was never repeated, so we ended up buying our own at a nearby supermarket. Coffee machine: we're really not fans of capsule coffee as it's inevitably tepid, insubstantial and unsatifying. And then there's the environmental impact of those single-use throwaway capsules. George Clooney has a lot to answer for.

March turned out to be a rather out-of-season time when not everything was operational, such as the poolside bar. There was an alternative QR code system on the tables to order drinks by the main pool, but this only works if you have an Australian mobile number, which we don't. Incidentally, the smaller pool on the first floor is warmer than the main one, which was a little chilly. Other facilities were good - we really enjoyed the bars and restaurant.

Breakfast buffet at Flynn's Italian was excellent. Just 2 things let it down: the fact that it was impossible to keep hot food from cooling down very quickly (thanks to unheated plates and over-active ceiling fans), and the capsule coffee machine - yes, another one - which was far too slow and complicated for the number of guests it served. Every morning I joined queues of head-scratching, frustrated, time-poor coffee drinkers trying to figure out how the thing operated. And when it did, the coffee produced wasn't worth the effort. A pot of plunger coffee per table would have been far more efficient and enjoyable.

Overall we had a really pleasant stay here, and would definitely return. During our time in Cairns we didn't see any other place that we would have preferred.

Room tip: The first floor pool is warmer than the second floor one. The hotel is cashless so make sure you're prepared for that.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CoconutLands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We drove from Sydney to Cairns and stayed in a different place each night. This was definitely our favorite. Great room, great location and great views. Parking is also very reasonable. The room was well appointed. I’m the bed was comfortable.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LindsayDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

There’s no doubt Flynn is aiming to be the most ‘hipster’ of the Crystalbrook hotels in Cairns. We weren’t attracted to it for that reason but because originally we were to be there for NYE so we wanted its view. It does have a far superior water view/outlook than its sister hotels. Things changed so we weren’t there NYE, but we still appreciated the view on other nights we stayed as we enjoyed drinks on the balcony - very pretty, albeit somewhat ‘man made’. Also nice when enjoying a coffee in the morning from the in room coffee machine, whilst watching the very early birds out walking….. you definitely want a view into the water/Esplanade at this hotel!
The styling is 100% pitched towards ‘trendy’ women and dare I say it (and we are not THAT old) teeny boppers!!! Pink basically everywhere!!!
I’m not sure anyone, however, teeny bopper or not, would appreciate the musty aroma on entering the room :| Ugh. Worrying already, for a new-ish hotel.
Mind you, the pink robes ARE gorgeous and made of fabulous material …. just probably not for your average Joe Blow Man who wants to put on a robe after showering 👘!!!
We wouldn’t return again but that’s not because we had any HUGE issues - Flynn wasn’t for us and a few things really did grate. First of all, because of celebrating an anniversary, they kindly comped a bottle of bubbles. Never look a gift horse in the mouth they say …..but the bottle was $10 RRP!!! Ha! A bit laughable in a $500+ a night (tiny!!!) room 😂
Our main gripe was car parking though - ridiculous and so disappointing how it was managed. We were given access to an open air parking space above the market (still paid for!!) despite ‘reserving’ the proper secure parking when we booked. It was full!!! We were to receive undercroft parking the next night apparently but no such luck. There needs to be far better management of car parking requirements and bookings.
A final note: do sign up for ‘The Crowd’ as you might as well get 10% off at all Crystalbrook establishments when you are out wining and dining - be quick though, as the bar tenders will generate the bills before you have even a second to show your ‘membership’ to get the discount!!!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Hi LisaMDL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Flynn experience. I am sorry to hear that some aspects of the property did not suit your taste. Flynn is the youngest of the 3 Cairns siblings and is definitely a little bit more 'out-there' as a personality- "Fun and energetic, Crystalbrook Flynn is a social butterfly- the natural life of the party." I can understand that this might not be what you were looking for. Luckily you have Bailey or Riley to explore next time you are in Cairns.

We value your feedback and appreciate that your parking was not on-site, it was still a reserved car space. I hope that you choose to return to Cairns and maybe give Flynn another opportunity or try Crystalbrook Riley or Bailey.

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews