We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ben B
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Great Hotel right on the Esplanade

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
First rate hotel with a great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities. My wife and i had a 3 night stay during a recent trip to Australia and found the hotel delightful. We had a room on a high floor with a balcony and the view was spectacular.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$259
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
Riley, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
AU$306
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$287
  • Official Site
    AU$306
  • Expedia.com
    AU$307
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$284
  • Priceline
    AU$284
  • Vio.com
    AU$272
  • Novotel
    AU$284
0.2 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Hilton
    AU$250
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Pool
Restaurant
AU$234
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$234
  • Priceline
    AU$220
  • Expedia.com
    AU$235
0.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
AU$177
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
1.3 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$275
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$275
  • Vio.com
    AU$268
  • Pullman
    AU$275
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
The Pool at the Reef Palms
AU$203
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$214
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • Vio.com
    AU$203
1.9 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY REFURBISHED SUPERIOR ROOM
AU$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
    AU$157
  • Hotel Website
    AU$164
3.1 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free parking
Pool
External View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$328
  • Priceline
    AU$329
  • Vio.com
    AU$326
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Flynn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
126
45
28
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
45
28
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea king urban room through luxury escapes esplanade tower exceptional hotel master room designed rooms yoga mat amazing bed hotel including thoughtful touches girl on reception sea view very clean hotel shower pressure coffee machine light switches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The sea view from our 8th floor room was probably the best I've ever seen in any hotel. How I loved that view - especially when the rain poured down outside, as it did a lot of the time during our stay. I could have sat there gawping at it all day: ebbing and flowing tides, cruise ships, tropical gardens, ferris wheel, the lagoon - and all the comings and goings of people going about their business.

The room was not large but very nicely decorated. Bed was super-comfortable. We had a family of chatting parakeets lurking in the shrubbery over the top of our window, which was a lot of fun.

Room amenities: very good, lovely bathroom. Minibar prices - not displayed - turned out to be high. The supply of tea bags was somewhat stingy, with only one bag per variety! Rather than share the one English Breakfast tea bag, we asked Housekeeping for more supplies, and were given the generous extra supply of - two!! Which was never repeated, so we ended up buying our own at a nearby supermarket. Coffee machine: we're really not fans of capsule coffee as it's inevitably tepid, insubstantial and unsatifying. And then there's the environmental impact of those single-use throwaway capsules. George Clooney has a lot to answer for.

March turned out to be a rather out-of-season time when not everything was operational, such as the poolside bar. There was an alternative QR code system on the tables to order drinks by the main pool, but this only works if you have an Australian mobile number, which we don't. Incidentally, the smaller pool on the first floor is warmer than the main one, which was a little chilly. Other facilities were good - we really enjoyed the bars and restaurant.

Breakfast buffet at Flynn's Italian was excellent. Just 2 things let it down: the fact that it was impossible to keep hot food from cooling down very quickly (thanks to unheated plates and over-active ceiling fans), and the capsule coffee machine - yes, another one - which was far too slow and complicated for the number of guests it served. Every morning I joined queues of head-scratching, frustrated, time-poor coffee drinkers trying to figure out how the thing operated. And when it did, the coffee produced wasn't worth the effort. A pot of plunger coffee per table would have been far more efficient and enjoyable.

Overall we had a really pleasant stay here, and would definitely return. During our time in Cairns we didn't see any other place that we would have preferred.

Room tip: The first floor pool is warmer than the second floor one. The hotel is cashless so make sure you're prepared for that.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CoconutLands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We drove from Sydney to Cairns and stayed in a different place each night. This was definitely our favorite. Great room, great location and great views. Parking is also very reasonable. The room was well appointed. I’m the bed was comfortable.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LindsayDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

There’s no doubt Flynn is aiming to be the most ‘hipster’ of the Crystalbrook hotels in Cairns. We weren’t attracted to it for that reason but because originally we were to be there for NYE so we wanted its view. It does have a far superior water view/outlook than its sister hotels. Things changed so we weren’t there NYE, but we still appreciated the view on other nights we stayed as we enjoyed drinks on the balcony - very pretty, albeit somewhat ‘man made’. Also nice when enjoying a coffee in the morning from the in room coffee machine, whilst watching the very early birds out walking….. you definitely want a view into the water/Esplanade at this hotel!
The styling is 100% pitched towards ‘trendy’ women and dare I say it (and we are not THAT old) teeny boppers!!! Pink basically everywhere!!!
I’m not sure anyone, however, teeny bopper or not, would appreciate the musty aroma on entering the room :| Ugh. Worrying already, for a new-ish hotel.
Mind you, the pink robes ARE gorgeous and made of fabulous material …. just probably not for your average Joe Blow Man who wants to put on a robe after showering 👘!!!
We wouldn’t return again but that’s not because we had any HUGE issues - Flynn wasn’t for us and a few things really did grate. First of all, because of celebrating an anniversary, they kindly comped a bottle of bubbles. Never look a gift horse in the mouth they say …..but the bottle was $10 RRP!!! Ha! A bit laughable in a $500+ a night (tiny!!!) room 😂
Our main gripe was car parking though - ridiculous and so disappointing how it was managed. We were given access to an open air parking space above the market (still paid for!!) despite ‘reserving’ the proper secure parking when we booked. It was full!!! We were to receive undercroft parking the next night apparently but no such luck. There needs to be far better management of car parking requirements and bookings.
A final note: do sign up for ‘The Crowd’ as you might as well get 10% off at all Crystalbrook establishments when you are out wining and dining - be quick though, as the bar tenders will generate the bills before you have even a second to show your ‘membership’ to get the discount!!!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Hi LisaMDL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Flynn experience. I am sorry to hear that some aspects of the property did not suit your taste. Flynn is the youngest of the 3 Cairns siblings and is definitely a little bit more 'out-there' as a personality- "Fun and energetic, Crystalbrook Flynn is a social butterfly- the natural life of the party." I can understand that this might not be what you were looking for. Luckily you have Bailey or Riley to explore next time you are in Cairns.

We value your feedback and appreciate that your parking was not on-site, it was still a reserved car space. I hope that you choose to return to Cairns and maybe give Flynn another opportunity or try Crystalbrook Riley or Bailey.

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Rooms were clean and well designed to be efficient with space. You get slippers, a reusable shopping bag and the tablet to order more towels and dining service was a breeze. For an American who stays almost entirely at Marriotts this was a wonderful and less expensive stay! Centrally located in Cairns (arguably the best location of the Crystalbrook options and Hiltons) couldn’t have asked for a better stay!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ladini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Hi Ladini,

Thanks for sharing your Crystalbrook Flynn experience, i'm pleased to hear it was such a positive one! The in room technology really does make life easier, and the location is hard to beat.

We are a long way from America but we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

This was not a very pleasant stay.

There was an air conditioning vent right outside the door to the room in the corridor and was incredibly noisy. The hotel had no other rooms available that we could move to so I had to go and buy ear plugs (which only helped a little bit) the next morning. We did not sleep well the whole stay.

The room was also right by the housekeep closet which again was noisy in the morning and also messy as housekeeping left the door open and on couple of occasions blocked the door to our room with carts and equipment. Housekeeping also walked into our room without knocking one morning which was quite rude. No hand towels were provided which I found very annoying. The drinking chocolate in the room was put of date.

The small room keys provided were annoying and easy to misplace. There is an app you can try than includes a room key but it didn't work for us. The app wasn't very helpful in any other way either.

There was no view from the room. It looked on to a maintenance room. I liked the balcony which was useful when it wasn't raining but needed more furniture as only 1 chair was provided. Quite pathetic.

The two pools were not heated and too cold in winter to use. We saw one family attempt to use a pool but gave up quickly.

The breakfast buffet initially looked good but after 4 days it was the same offering with very little variety. Even though this hotel is located in an area abundant with tropical fruit the only fruit offered every day was apples and melon. That was really disappointing.


Would not stay at a Crystalbrook again based on this experience.

Room tip: Try a different hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Hi talltaff,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Crystalbrook Flynn. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations in a number of areas. Wherever possible we do try and arrange room moves to accomodate our guests. I will follow up on this to see why this was not possible during your stay.

We value your feedback and your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments to see where improvements can be made.

hope that you choose to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to provide a true 5 star experience.

Kind Regards,

Jaydev Walia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews