We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$212
No prepayment needed
Official Site
AU$212
Expedia.com
AU$211
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
125
35
34
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
35
34
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grab and go milk bar free movies bedroom residence beautiful smell rainfall shower contemporary hotel spending nights bed was super comfortable helpful front desk staff nespresso machine f b big tv fabulous hotel little touches check in was a breeze walked everywhere
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Crystalbrook have cornered the best block in Cairns with their buildings but if you want 3-4 star without the smell of wet dog/men’s locker room/an open sewer, you might be better off booking Novotel or Double Tree/Hilton. Both are next door to one of (Bailey/Flynn/Riley), though I haven’t stayed at either and can’t comment on their preferred guest scents.

We did some research (asking other guests/people in the lift/foyer etc ) and apparently level 11 is the only one at Bailey with odour free rooms and all hotels use the same air filtration system. After asking to be moved from our sweaty gym sock scented room we were shown another on a different level and assured it was odour free. Staff obviously no longer have the ability to smell as this one smelt like the streets of Phuket City. After being shown another 3 rooms on different levels again, we were finally given one we could breathe in. It had been bombed with at least 2 cans of air freshener. We were given a $17 bottle of white for our trouble. It was drinkable and we appreciated that, thank you.

Unfortunately the smell and possible hidden black mould infests this hotel as the filtration system complies with “responsible luxury” sustainability practices. This apparently results in smells staying inside the rooms rather than filtering out. You cannot open the windows and there are no balconies so if your nose works or you care about your lungs, you might want to find somewhere else to stay. I feel extremely sorry for staff who must receive room change requests hundreds of times every single day. Lucky there are no balconies then.. other than the major odour issue there are other design flaws (form over function rules) in the room but I’m not Shayna Blaze getting paid for my opinion so the hotel will have to survey their customers if they wish to find out. First business I’ve used in the last 20 years that has not sent out a feedback survey post-stay. Guess they already know what is wrong and won’t or can’t do anything about it. What a shame, really disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa Brown, General Manager at Crystalbrook Bailey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

HI Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
A post stay survey is very 20 years ago and impersonal. Our team do ask on arrival and at touchpoints about your stay You have found your forum for a review right here- and I appreciate the insights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023

Pretty nice. It is overpriced for what you get, but considering the prices of fleabag dumps these days it falls squarely into what I would call premium. Not luxury or “five star” by any means. The basic rooms and small and the amenities are underwhelming, including the lack of food service options for evening checkins, but the decor was interesting and artwork throughout was a nice touch. The location was good, and the $25 brekkie buffet (though overpriced) was fun and tasty. Service throughout was warm and accommodating. New, clean and modern. Just don’t expect the Ritz.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anne37Scal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa Brown, General Manager at Crystalbrook Bailey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Thanks for the honest review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Stayed for 3 nights. Very disappointing. I am curious to know how they manage to maintain the 5 star category. Very noisy ventilation in the room. Light in the bar section and wardrobe would not turn off which made it very difficult to sleep because of the bright blue light. I had to stick a band aid on the light sensor to turn it off. The shower hose was coming of. On day two the switch cover plate in the bathroom came off. The most annoying thing is a $151 pre-authorization charge on my card that is going to take them up to 7 business days to remove. Highly recommend to avoid this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Ekaterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa Brown, General Manager at Crystalbrook Bailey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Compared to all other reviews I find this concerning.
It seems you had the cupboard door around the wrong way as the light touches the door and turns off !
Everyone has an opinion, and this is yours - appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2023


It's nice to see Crystalbrook bailey finally give cairns a place people want to stay.
From the inviting daycor to the modern style bailey was perfect.
Firstly booked for 2 nights. With the help of quest services we could stay the 3rd night..
Thanks to the staff which made our 3 night stay so memorable.
Thanks for putting cairns back on the map with a great place to stay.
Will be back again. Soon.

Sarah thank you for the amazing room.

Room tip: Mary poppins of hotels. Take our advice this place was perfect in every way
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa Brown, General Manager at Crystalbrook Bailey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

This is nice to hear- thank you for taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2023

Room good. Facilities good. Had breakfast in restaurant….not so good. Choice was limited. Food was luke warm. Coffee included was in undrinkable. Surely for $38/person barista coffee should be included. Only one staff member checking guests in to restaurant and collecting used plates. Quite disappointing. Have eaten next door at Novotel for less cost and far better quality.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GMart30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa Brown, General Manager at Crystalbrook Bailey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Thank you for your feedback - will review your comments with the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews