We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i've stayed in better”
Review of Reef Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“i've stayed in better”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

i was at reef backpackers fro 6 nights and it was ok me an my girlfriend had a private room, if there was an ensuite it would have been alot better, on the second floor only 1 shower was working so you had to wait for a long time to get a shower, you weren't aloud the air con on all day it had to be off between 8am til 6pm which is when it is hottest in the room!, the kitchen was ok just like any other kitchen, we found ants in our bed more than once, our bin wasn't changed once while we were there and we were there for 6 nights! the walk into town wasn't too bad but a shuttle bus would have been nice form the bus station as carrying a backpack in the cairns heat is no fun

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    21
    13
    25
See reviews for
2
32
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I'm a 40yo female from California and knew I was pushing the limits of hostelling ... but I thought I'd give it a go since this place had two female-only rooms ... so I was cool with it. I showed up and my bunk was taken and since I was unfamiliar with Cairns, I wasn't about to wander outside and look for another place to stay (now I know there are plenty of hostels in Cairns and one just next door) so I said I'd be OK with the mixed room. My room-mates were really nice boys between 21-25yo. One was French and two were Italians. At first they were surprised to see me, but then we just struck up a conversation and all was good. The bathrooms are clean and the place comes with free breakfast although I decided to eat out. I have to say, that although the price of $18/night is extremely attractive, I'd stay here again but get a private room. Also, Constanze, the manager, is just a terrific person who stayed with me until I got picked up by the spotty airport shuttle service. She made several phone calls and we just chatted the time away until I was picked up. Thanks Constanze!!

Room Tip: If you are female and you booked a bunk in a female only room, you can insist on a bunk or simply le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The atmosphere surprised me! Friendly staff and good value for money! Free Wifi was fantastic and realy helpfull, and quite fast!
Close to center and a nice pool to chill so it was easy to get some beers!
I would go back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Big facility, huge backyard!
Perfect for traveling with friends or solo. You can meet a lot of other travelers there as well. Dinner is average but more than expected. This place has a lot of planned events designed to encourage interaction between guests. This is more of a younger crowd of course. Facilities were well maintained as well. And very helpfull and nice staff!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I just left the Reef today and am sad to be going. Best hostel I've ever been to! I wish I could have stayed longer and I definitely will be going back. Staff is very friendly and it's a great place to meet people. I was in a 6 bed female room and had the place to myself for 2 nights, then shared with one girl for another 2. Location of the hostel is great, right in town and walking distance to most attractions as well as bars and clubs.

Room Tip: room 12 not a good view but a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.7 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Backpackers

Property: Reef Backpackers
Address: 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price range (per night): $16 - $59
Hotel Class:2 star — Reef Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Reef Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Backpackers Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing