We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 am
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Reef Hotel Casino
from USD 30.41
More Info
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
154
235
187
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
235
187
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice casino fish flanders pullman zoo reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Last visited Cairns some 10 years ago, walked into here on a Wed. night and was stunned by the lack of excitement normally associated with a Casino. Place was dull and less than half full, 2nd level of the Casino even worse. Choice of Dining didn't impress either, Asian takeaway or a bland 'fine' dining room, again more empty than used. No live music, not even a piano bar , just a bar with a large video screen. For a place that just spent Millions upgrading, it simply doesn't show it. The local clubs had more action, better food choices and more patrons.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereefhotelcasino, Guest Relations Manager at The Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you, Colin, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us so honestly, we'll use your review to create better experiences for our guests. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Casino is situated close to the ferry port. I went there to visit the Wildlife Dome which is at the top of the hotel. Inside of the hotel is stunning as I had to walk through to get to the lifts. The dome itself was brilliant with a wide range of animals on display, plus the high ropes course looked incredible. Definitely recommend a visit to this hidden gem!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank cg2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereefhotelcasino, Guest Relations Manager at The Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you cg2792, what a great review :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

First time I have been there since it was done up, they have done a great job the crew working behind the bar were helpful and efficient, knowledgeable.

The happy hour deals were also great value with choices which will bring in business for them rather than most places only offer a single choice.

I would of rated higher if the beer selection would of been better they have at least 14 taps no IPA beer no 4XXXX draft, other than that it was enjoyed by all , I think the music should start earlier the band was great so good to sit drink with friends and listen to live music

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank garypC6769XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2019 via mobile

Wow, what a great use of space. Pass the casino and head upstairs. Harness up and climb round the mid air obstacle course, zip line over the enclosure and take a leap. Interact with the resident reptiles during the educational sessions. Friendly staff, once you get past the initial shock of the price but then you find out you can return for another 3 days. Great activity during the rainy season.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2019

We wondered through the casino and as always very nice! May restaurants nearby to choose from. Hundreds of bats fly around almost in swarms after dinner time and it is a sight to witness. They do not bother humans for they fly high up.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank TravellingCanucks542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Reef H, Casino Representative at The Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Thank you for your review TravellingCanucks542. We are so glad you enjoyed our Casino and Cairns. We are glad the bats behaved and welcomed you to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews