We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips
from USD 169.44
More Info
Reviews (2,869)
Filter reviews
2,869 results
Traveller rating
2,535
247
51
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,535
247
51
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michaelmas cay fish glass bottom boat both locations smaller boat small group awesome crew these guys food was great diving experience hastings reef board safety passengers dive boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 2,869 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

Boarding @7:30am the crew were welcoming and informative throughout the 1.5hr trip from Cairns wharf to the reef, “the boat is smaller than some of the bigger ones so the ride may be a little rough for some” but the small group makes a more personal and special day! You spend 2 hrs each in 2 locations snorkeling or diving! The reef is a must see and should be on everyone’s bucket list

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank danbD2936FD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeastarCruises, Public Relations Manager at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2019

Dear Dan,
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed the two hours exploring at each reef site in a small group. Snorkelling at the Great Barrier Reef ✓
Thanks again for travelling with us,
Seastar Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

This trip was great! I would recommend this to anyone. All of the crew were super helpful including from the start when they knew it was going to be a rough trip out to the reef due to the wind and they made sure all of us had taken sea sickness medicine (you can buy on board if you don't have any). So glad they had us do that because it was pretty rough going out! But once you got close it calmed down and then we didn't even notice it when we were in the water. My husband and I both did our first introductory dive and had a great experience. Laura was our instructor and she was wonderful. I was super nervous and she very patient with me. There were 5 of us doing intro dives so she took us out in two separate groups for about 30 minutes. then we still had time to snorkel at that location and then eat a hot lunch and then on to the outer reef. The ride was not nearly as rough this time. You had the option to do a second introductory dive (I think it was about 40$ extra) which my husband did while I chose just to snorkel (where I saw a shark!). Also went on the glass bottom boat. It was nice that you had so much time at each reef because we didn't feel rushed at all. Every single one of the crew was knowledgeable and helpful and I specifically cannot say enough good things about Laura! Would definitely do this trip again!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank LindsMoxHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeastarCruises, Public Relations Manager at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Hello @LindsMoxHero,
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your day with us. Congratulations to both of you on your first scuba dive, what an amazing memory you can look back on now. We are so happy you and the whole group had an amazing time exploring Michaelmas Cay and Hastings reef, even though the winds were a bit stronger on that day.
Thank you again for travelling with us, we would like to welcome you on board again soon!
Seastar Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

The whole experience was exceptional. All the staff on board were more than willing to help with anything that we needed. The staff offered us snorkeling tours of the reefs when we went to the two reefs which we fully took advantage of. She was very knowledgeable and made sure to show us all the different fish and creatures that were around us. As well, the food was amazing all throughout the trip with snacks and lunch provided. Finally, we loved that the staff took pictures throughout the trip and posted them for free - we didn't have to worry about having our own camera while snorkeling because they took care of that as well. I will definitely recommend this family-owned business to friends traveling to Australia.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Amanda7989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeastarCruises, Public Relations Manager at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear Amanda,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. Travelling in a small group of 36 people makes the day out on the reef more personalised and our staff members always try to answer everyone's questions.
We are glad you enjoyed the snacks and lunch provided and we hope you were able to find a funny action shot of you on our Facebook page!
Thank you again for travelling with us,
Seastar Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019

A great experience with wonderful, knowledgeable staff who make safety a priority. We had a fabulous day snorkeling and seeing the reef from a glass bottomed boat. Professional staff there to explain what you are seeing. Great lunch and very good company. Lookouts on duty at all times. Underwater photos are free.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeastarCruises, Public Relations Manager at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear Jeremy,
Thank you so much for your feedback and the wonderful pictures you've uploaded. Amazing you got to see Frigate birds, turtles, giant clams and a diverse underwater world on one single day. We are glad you felt safe, had a great time exploring the reef and you learned about the corals and wildlife.
We would like to welcome you on board again in the future, Seastar Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

I really enjoyed this tour as it met all my expectations. All the staff were amazing and helpful and clearly outlined the instructions.

I really enjoyed the 2 snorkelling tours with Vlad as it put me at ease and also helped point out the beautiful reefs and marine life.

The lunch was really good and had a bunch of variety.

Definitely pack anti-nausea pills as the boat is smaller and it moves quite fast and it’s very easy to get sea sick.

Would highly recommend it if you are planning to visit the Great Barrier Reef and want to be part of a smaller group.

1  Thank alia_nedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeastarCruises, Public Relations Manager at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Hi @alia_nedi,
Thank you very much for your detailed review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that all staff members on board were helpful and pointed out the interesting facts and animals on the Great Barrier Reef.
It is definitely a good idea taking motion sickness pills in case of stronger winds out on the reef. They can also be purchased on board of Seastar.
Thanks again!
Seastar Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews