We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seastar Cruises premium reef cruise combines the outer Great Barrier Reef with a coral cay island. In only 1 1/4 hours the fast air-conditioned Seastar 1 can take you from Cairns to magnificent Michaelmas Cay, the largest of the local uninhabited coral cays. Cruising past Green Island, Upolu cay and Oyster reef Seastar is the first boat to arrive. After an enjoyable time here it is a short 20 minute cruise to the splendid Hastings Reef sitting on the very outer edge. This is where the corals thrive, well out from the coast away from the influence the rivers and streams, adjacent to the clear waters of the Pacific Ocean. You will have 2 1/2 hours at each location. Plenty of time to go snorkeling, do a introductory dive, relax on the beach of the Island or join a tour in the Glass Bottom Boat at Hastings Reef. The day cruise on Seastar inlcudes Morning/Afternoon tea, high quality snorkel equipment, Wetsuit or Lycra suit (depending on the time of year), Glass Bottom Boat Tour, Hot & Cold Buffet Lunch, Reef Interpretation & Guided Snorkel Tours on each spot.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We were welcomed on board by the friendly crew of the Seastar. They were very efficient and professional but had a lovely relaxed vibe. We stopped twice for snorkelling and diving. Once at a bird sanctuary island and then out at another area of the reef. Everyone could also enjoy a glass bottomed boat trip too.
All-in-all a fantastic day out.

Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 351 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Great day on the sea! The Seastar Crew was amazing: professional, knowledgeable, and entertaining. The snorkeling was breathtaking in this time of the year. The glass bottom boat was a great way to see the reef without getting in the water or a great way to see something we missed during snorkeling. Can't rate the diving experience but people seemed to enjoy it. Lunch was good with some dish diversity. Only con of our trip, upper deck of the boat did not have AC and very little air movement even at full speed. Weather predicted thunderstorms all day, we never saw a drop of rain, don't dismiss this because of the weather! Cheers mates!

Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Everything done re the full day Reef trip was perfect. Crew is professional and attentive. They made sure everyone knew what they were doing, everyone was ok. Food was perfect for this type of day and extras were available for purchase. A couple tips -- ocean can be choppy due to wind etc, buy Bonine or Dramamine at home and take as directed (they have it on the boat but you'll pay more). Bring a bottle of water you can refill (cups are a pain to hold onto). Don't worry about getting too much sun, you can mostly stay in shade on boat and if you have a stinger suit on, you won't get sun. Do not miss this trip or complain about the price -- in this case the service and experience is worth every penny.

1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Grt day at the reef... 30/35 people on board meant no delays or hanging around. Crew were excellent.....All the support needed for snorkelling and scuba divers.... I never review trips or hotels.... but felt this trip deserved a mention. Just book it.

Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Had the worst experience with them, the team on board is arrogant. Didn't brief you with the policy and stuff when you are on the boat. There bosses are so arrogant that they don't even prefer to talk to their customers. Will definitely not recommend them. When the tour ends they requested me not share any negative feedback so that people they don't get exposed. Went with Quick Silver for inner reef tour next day they were too good and thorough professional.

5  Thank deepanshu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeastarCruises, Owner at Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you Deepanshu for your review.
This was not unexpected and really concerns your diving.
It is our policy (the same as nearly all other local operators) that once you enter the water there is no refund.
You signed the authorisation to charge prior to the dive, which clearly had this policy written on it. It was mentioned when you first inquired, it was mentioned in the dive brief, it is clearly on display in the main cabin and all divers were asked just before entering the water if they wanted to continue and again it was stated.
We could not be clearer.
Then after delaying this group for 10 minutes, you decided you did not want to continue.
Being asked not to give a negative review is false.
As for the crew onboard being arrogant, totally untrue, however such statements usually are difficult to defend, so I would like anyone reading this to also read the review of Alice entitled “Awesome!” who travelled the same day as you.
This is located directly below Deepanshu’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Seastar Cruises Reef Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing