We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$234
No prepayment needed
Priceline
AU$220
Go to your Happy Price
Official Site
AU$234
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
April Louise D
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

Falls short of what it claims to be

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024
Please don’t waste your money,
We’re currently here and you may as well go with a hotel chain you already know and trust.

We had our room half made up, strange. You’ll see on our picture, only half the bed was made 🤣 that’s all our room service consisted of, apparently ‘they were running behind schedule’ so you only get a bit of your room done.
Poolside food and room service expect to wait an hour, when you’re travelling with a toddler, it’s very frustrating.

Yes the hotel did give us a refund for some food and complimentary late check out, so they do try. But when you’re spending roughly £150-200 a night, in a hotel that claims ‘luxury’ it shouldn’t happen at all.

The pool is really nice, and the location is spot on! It’s just a shame that everything else falls short.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Don’t bother booking
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this review
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Dear aprillouised,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crystalbrook Riley,

I'm glad you found the pool and the location to your liking. However I'm dissapointed to hear about the shortfalls.

At Crystalbrook Riley, we are committed to delivering exceptional service, and I regret that we fell short of your expectations. We take your feedback as an opportunity to review and refine our processes to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests.

If you feel that you like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact me directly on amar.maglic@crystalbrookcollection.com

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future.

Warm Regards
Amar Maglic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$227
  • Novotel
    AU$227
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$197
  • Priceline
    AU$227
0.3 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Pool
Restaurant
Cairns Destination
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
0.9 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Pool
Restaurant
External View
Booking.com
AU$256
  • Priceline
    AU$256
  • Vio.com
    AU$251
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
0.9 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$211
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$204
  • travelup.com
    AU$206
0.5 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$194
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$194
  • Priceline
    AU$182
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
0.4 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$270
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$270
  • Algotels
    AU$230
  • Vio.com
    AU$270
1.0 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$148
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
0.3 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
0.9 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$265
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
1.5 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pullman
AU$293
  • Priceline
    AU$293
  • Booking.com
    AU$293
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
1.0 km from Crystalbrook Riley
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
527
130
78
47
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
527
130
78
47
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar panoramic sea view room glass tower poolside service pool area beautiful hotel free movies floor to ceiling windows star resort buffet breakfast coral sea mini bar coffee machine beautiful pool king bed stayed for nights cairns esplanade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Worst sleep we have ever had in a hotel. For some reason we were provided with 3 single beds for our family of 3. One was too uncomfortable to sleep on so had to try to push the other two singles together in the middle of the night to make more room but still got no sleep as the beds are on wheels and kept created a gap in the middle. We booked a double room so not sure why we were provided with 3 single beds.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Hi Kimberley Cliff,

Thank you for sharing your feedback surrounding your recent stay with us Kimberley. I'm sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable sleep.

I'm unsure about your feedback regarding the bedding - I have looked into your booking and confirm that you booked a twin room with additional rollaway bed.

May I suggest one of our fabulous sea suites for your future stays that have a King/Twin room with additional options of sofa bed or rollaway bed. These are a little larger in space as well and have a separate living area to the bedroom.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Crystalbrook Riley soon again,

Warm Regards,
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2024

I love this place! We stayed for 2 nights in January and had the most relaxing stay. The pool and sunlounge area is perfect for just lounging around and sipping cocktails and the rooftop bar has great views over the harbour. Our room also looked over the water and was beautifully appointed and a had very comfy bed. All the staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean...only suggestion would be to have bigger cups in the room for making tea...otherwise perfect stay!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Dear BrookepC2861BU,

Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words! It warms our hearts to know that you found our services, room, pool area and fantastic rooftop bar Rocco to be amazing.

The Crystalbrook Riley team works hard to provide a memorable stay, and your kind words are truly appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Warm Regards,
Amar Maglic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024

Not family friendly. Don't go on a weekend. Because if there are any issues they can"t fix them. Mouldy curtains and light fittings. Also there are no restaurants at the Riley that cater for children on weekends.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 425moirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Dear 425moirab,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crystalbrook Riley,

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and I appreciate your honest feedback.

At Crystalbrook Riley, we are committed to delivering exceptional service, and I regret that we fell short of your expectations. We take your feedback as an opportunity to review and refine our processes to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests.

Please be advised that are all restaurants are Riley are family friendly and cater for little kings and queens. However I apologize if this was not communicated correctly to you.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future.

Warm Regards
Amar Maglic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2024

Excellent hotel close to all you need, quiet spot, clean great service, friendly helpful staff beautiful lobby, pool is great!!. Recommended cocktails by the pool too. Calypso bar is a new seafood and rum bar located on ground floor of the glass tower, excellent cocktails and service!!

Room tip: Fresh hotel with modern innovations.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Felice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear felicew2024,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Crystalbrook Riley - Thrilled to hear that you tried our new popular Seafood and Rum bar: Calypso Club.

Our team is committed to delivering five-star service, and it's fantastic to hear that you experienced it during your stay. Your satisfaction is our ultimate goal, and we're thrilled that we met your expectations.

We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again for another outstanding experience.

Yours sincerely,
Amar Maglic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Great pool and views. Great location, close walking distance to shops and eateries. Great facilities with bikes, restaurants and a beautiful day spa. Only negative is one night bar shut very early before 6pm and no poolside food or beverages available. Overall a great place to stay highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 334jadeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear 334jadeg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your staycation at Crystalbrook Riley. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing week and that you also tried one of our wonderful treatments in Eleme Spa.

We strive to provide a memorable and rejuvenating experience for our guests, and your feedback is a wonderful affirmation of our efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another delightful stay in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Amar Maglic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews