We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had a wonderful experience with this hostel, and enthusiastically recommend to fellow travelers. It is a bit outside of the downtown area, but they have an hourly shuttle...however I chose to walk most days because the boardwalk is beautiful along the waterfront. Simon and Tracey are absolutely incredible and will do anything to help you enjoy your trip. Place was incredibly clean. Kitchen big, basic, but everything you need (no oven, but why heat up a place with an oven when it's so hot outside, anyway?!). Breakfast is basic (toast, tea, coffee, cereal), but free and all I needed. Enthusiastically recommend this to any fellow traveler.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We love you we do!!!
Thank you sooooo much for a fantastic review! We hope this does help our future guests to decide to stay with us at JJ's.
THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    75
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
54
87
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed on many occasions! you will find rooms no bigger than 4 bed dorm and cheap as!! staff are friendly and extremely helpful! My advice is to pick this place over the rest!! as a traveller you will meet far more nice people staying in small hostels like this!! See you again some day JJ's Backpackers

Room Tip: This is the place to pick over the rest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Can't get better than this! Wow, thank you soo much for this great feedback. Don't really know what to say now :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

3.5 rating: One of the cheaper options for a single room amongst the hostels in Cairns ( had a double bed). There is a free shuttle bus into and out of town throughout the day and into the night. A 20 minute walk to town, nice to go via the Esplanade. Relatively quiet hostel so good choice for people who want the chance at a decent nights sleep which may be less likely at a known party hostel.

There were ants in the bedroom. Bathrooms were clean.

The hostel has Wifi but no computers with internet connection. Computers available in Calypso hostel around the corner.

I did not use the breakfast and free meal options so cannot comment. There are some convenience stores/supermarkets close by which is useful.

Helpful staff with regard to booking tours etc but beware that the deposit paid goes to the hostel and not the tour company - worth baring in mind if the tour is with a small company where the deposit "lost" would be more meaningful to them than the large tour companies. I wasn't aware of this when following the "support your hostel" requests with regard to booking tours.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danzy-Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, this really does help to ever improve our little hostel.
With being in the tropics we have a strict pest control policy and do our best to minimise these little critters. However, it is very hard sometimes to prevent our guests from eating in their rooms and putting empty drink cans and food wrappers to attract insects. Rooms and bins are cleaned regularly to help prevent this. Hope this helps?
I am sorry you had to go elsewhere for your internet however we found it very rare guests asked to use a computer as many travellers now carry their own. We do have WIFI access in the whole of the hostel and we do have our office computer should there be any emergencies.
Thank you again for your comments and we wish you all the best in your travels :oD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hostel is run by true Ozzies and they made a fun place, made excellent use of the fact that it is not a city hostel. It's a bit out of the way from downtime Cairns. But it's a nice walk on the boulevard next to the beach (watch out for crocs;-)). They also provide a shuttle bus. So you'll get there. Staff is really helpful and laidback. JJ's offers a lot, but is maybe a bit overpriced because of that. Breakfast is included, but is one sided. They offer coupon to eat out at night, which is a plate of pasta or chili. I mean, when you are a hardcore backpacker this may not be what you want. When you are starting your trip it might be nice.
Rooms are average. Not super clean, not terribly dirty. Staff might be the best in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayziew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
YEAY, thank you for your review!!!
Not sure what one sided means for the breakfast but we usually offer tea, coffee, toast, jams, vegemite (gotta try this if you haven't already!). A choice of cornflakes and rice bubbles with milk. This is buffet style which is topped up when getting low and is available for a whole our and a half - yum!
We do love our staff and JJ's definately would not be the same without them!
Thank you squillions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We arrived at JJ's after spending the night at Darwin airport ready for an early morning flight tired, hungry and grouchy. After the free pick up service from the airport, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who could not do enough to make us feel welcome and at home.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice view over the back garden. The bathrooms were shared, 1 per block of rooms and we did find that we had to queue for quite a while on several occasions.
Also included in the price is breakfast which consists of toast, cornflakes, rice crispies, tea, coffee and milk and a free meal coupon which had to be cashed in at the "Wool Shed" (In the town centre) for meals such as pasta with a vegetable sauce or chilli con carne.
The hostel also offers and free shuttle to and from town several times per day, which was helpful, but as town is only a 15 minute walk along the waterfront, we'd recommend this also.
The owners also arranged camper van hire for us and got us a discount also which was greatly appreciated.
The only downside was that it was quite noisy at night a few times and took the night manager a while to sort it out.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorddodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
YEAY, thank you for your comments!
We are so happy to felt relaxed when you arrived, there is nothing worse than a sleepless night and then having to sort stuff out on arrival at your new place. Breakfast & Bed.....can't beat it!
We are really sorry you had to wait to shower. We will point out to guests on arrival that there are definately more than one bathroom they can use :o)
Your feedback has helped us, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
1.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
2.0 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price range (per night): $24 - $60
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelbookers Awards for Excellence "Best Staff Oceania" 2012 & 2013! One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up! Secure off street parking also available for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; * Free WIFI * Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Mobile, Internet & Phone card Recharge * Photocopy, printing & faxing * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JJ's Backpackers Hostel Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing