We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed in JJ's for 2 nights at the end of a very long trip in Oz. The place was great value for money: very friendly staff, small, clean, welcoming and very quiet as it was on the outskirts of town but close to a lovely beach. Our room was a comfortable double, contained everything you need and was nice and secure. Good facilities overall, small pool and a free shuttle bus between JJs and the main spot in Cairns. Also safe to leave the hire care outside. I'd definitely recommend JJs as it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    75
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
54
87
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I lived in JJ for 3 nights, the price is cheap but the bathroom and toilet are clean. staffs are nice and give me a lot of help. if you want to find a cheap but clean place to live, it is the one

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Having recently returned from our world trip, here is a review of our stay at this hostel. JJ's is a great little hostel and all you need for your stay. Our room was very basic, but the mattresses were confortable and we had air con which was essential. They include free dinner tickets at the Woolshed which was simple but tasty food. The location of the hostel was the only downside as it was quite far out, but they do run a free shuttle bus to town. The pool was the tiniest pool we had seen! We checked out after the first night to be more central to Cairns centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortugalExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at JJ's for 3 nights. We had a doubloe room with air conditioner if we'd wanted it. Luckily we didn't, there was plenty of fresh air with the windows open. I rate JJ's very highly. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathroom facilities were clean and I saw staff constantly cleaning there, and the kitchen. Breakfasts were readily available, and there was cereal, tea/coffee and toast with butter and jam. There was a courtesy bus which ran regualrly between the hostel and the centre of Cairns. This was free of charge. There is also a free dinner served at the Woolshed, and the quality and choice of food is good. You can update your meal for $5 which my husband did - nachos, which are worth a lot more than $5. The hostel is also located in a quiet part of town, safe to leave the car just outside overnight. It's 3 minutes walk from the beach/esplanade. Very quiet at night. Nice location for having breakfast in a morning and there was a small pool available for guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoAdventruers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed in hostels for seven months, but this one really stood out. The staff were so helpful and the hostel was nice and friendly due to it's relatively small size. The free breakfast is nothing exciting, but you can eat as much toast and honey/jam as you want, or cornflakes, which when being a poor backer, is very useful! The free dinners in town are quite small, but it is nice having someone cook for you and feeling like you are eating out! When we were here the owner did a free bbq one night with loads and loads of sausages, meat, salads, potato salad, pasta salad, rice salad, etc ect. And because there was too much for everyone to eat, she just put the rest in the fridges and said we could take as much as we wanted for our luches the next day! It was all delicious.
It is quite a walk from town. Maybe twenty minutes, but it is a beautiful walk along a boardwalk by the water with parrots in the trees next to you and pelicans the other side.
This hostel not luxury, but it is cheap, clean, friendly and safe. What more could you want from a hostel? I would recommend it to any backpacker.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather_supertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
2.0 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price range (per night): $23 - $59
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelbookers Awards for Excellence "Best Staff Oceania" 2012 & 2013! One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up! Secure off street parking also available for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; * Free WIFI * Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Mobile, Internet & Phone card Recharge * Photocopy, printing & faxing * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JJ's Backpackers Hostel Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing