We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it! Don't cheat yourselves :-)”

Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 159.96*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Rainforest by Night from Cairns
Ranked #16 of 157 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 'Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours' specialises in small group rainforest wildlife tours with a twist! As a lot of Australian rainforest animals are nocturnal (at least 80% of them) a night element and spotlighting is always included with a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide. It is magical to be involved in seeing a wild animal unrestricted in its natural environment in the rainforest, especially at night with all the new sights and sounds around you. On our tours we can never guarantee what we will see but we do promise you will see something! As an example we often see the elusive platypus (we have at least a 90% success rate) and the rare Tree Kangaroo as well as rare birds, musky rat kangaroos, possums, frogs, owls, reptiles, bandicoots and various invertebrates. Your wildlife adventure starts early afternoon with pick ups from your Cairns hotels and returns you around 10pm. Included is binoculars, wet wether gear, afternoon tea in the forest and dinner at a country restaurant.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 October 2017

It was a brillant tour! Do not cheat yourself out of it! Paul knows a lot about the the trees, the animals and the history of it and tells it, so we could understand it.
We saw all the animals we could hope for, including platypus and tree kangaroos. We saw bandicoot, rat kangaroo, fruit bats, different possums, tree dragon, turtles, wild turkeys chasing each other, carpet python (saved it from getting run over by a car) and so much more. The dinner we had was also excellent! Not a boring moment! Oh - and we licked the bum of a green ant - who lived to tell the tail ;-)

Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the review and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tree kangaroo"
in 69 reviews
"green ants"
in 24 reviews
"musky rat"
in 17 reviews
"wildlife tour"
in 16 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 20 reviews
"elusive platypus"
in 15 reviews
"australian wildlife"
in 20 reviews
"night walk"
in 18 reviews
"nocturnal animals"
in 14 reviews
"great tour"
in 38 reviews
"night tour"
in 22 reviews
"huntsman spider"
in 10 reviews
"leaf tailed"
in 8 reviews
"atherton tablelands"
in 34 reviews
"spot animals"
in 6 reviews
"fig trees"
in 17 reviews
"love wildlife"
in 5 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The rainforest tour was amazing! Everything was pretty good planning, from the beginning until the end. Our guide Tapio was amazing. He knows about everything! Loves the nature and teach you everything that you need to know and more! The dinner was good as well. Great food, great attention and great size of the dishes. The last part of the tour, the night view of the forest was spectacular. Our guide has all the knowledge to know exactly where to go so we could see the animals that we would like to! 100% recommended!

Thank Yubelkys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thanks for the high praise. Tapio is a great guide so it’s nice that you mentioned him. He always does his best to make sure everyone gets to see lots of things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Clovis, New Mexico
42
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

An amazing trip, out of all the rain forest tours there was only this one that did night tours and since a large amount of Australia's animals are nocturnal, it's the only one. Paul was our tour guide and he was a wealth of knowledge, he has areas that he goes to so you have a great chance of seeing a platypus and tree kangaroos. Dinner was great had a good size piece of fish and plenty of chips(French fries), and bread for us not to leave hungry. After dinner we went on the prowl for nocturnal animals. Saw multiple animals. White tailed rats, green tree fogs, leaf tailed lizard, countless possums of varying breeds, bats, flying foxes, and a few others who's names slipped my mind. You never know what you're going to get, his tour sizes are between 2 -11 people according to him, so you always get a small group. I highly recommend this tour anyone interested, you actually get a view of animals unlike day tours when most animals are inactive or sleeping.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hey thanks for the review and recommendation. It was my pleasure to show you around so I am glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This tour seemed really unique, among the many offered from Cairns. Getting to go out into the forest at night and look for animals is a really fun experience (assuming you don't mind walking in the dark!).
Our guide that day was very knowledgable about the area, and even more so about the animals that live there. He was able to answer any questions and was easy going and very excited about what he could find for us in the wild. We saw a good variety of animals (there's never a guarantee of what you'll see, but always some animals come out to be seen!).
The restaurant was good too, offering a quiet ambiance and decent food. Nothing fancy, but very good and plenty of it to fill up.
If you like animals and seeing the natural area of the rain forest, this is a good tour choice. The small numbers make it especially nice. And the Paul, is easy to work with as well, being willing to move my tour date when I had a conflict come up, and then again working with me to move it to another day when I wasn't the only person booked for the tour (rather than just refunding my money and apologizing, which some tour operators would have done).

Thank INTrvlGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for the review. We try and make it easy for people so I am glad it worked out for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is a great tour for people that want to know about the wildlife of the area. We saw a lot of animals, including tree kangaroos, platypus and possums and our guide was was an expert and very kind. Essential tour for nature lovers!

Thank Ferran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hey thanks for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing