We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing & Snorkeling”

Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 165.39*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns
More Info
USD 165.39*
and up
Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the passion of the Ocean Free and Freedom team! First class service with that friendly Ozzie touch! A luxury high speed 20M CAT "Ocean Freedom" to 2 stunning locations Upolu Cay and "Wonder Wall" on the GBR or a beautiful 16M sailing vessel "Ocean Free" to the famous Green Island + GBR . Personal tours carrying low passenger numbers offering more of a day out with "family and friends" than a "commercial tour".
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Sailing & Snorkeling”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My wife and I had a very nice day on the reef with Ocean Free. There were only 12 other passengers on the boat , which was important to us. The other boats looked packed! The captain and crew were professional and personable. The equipment and instructions were excellent. There were a couple of weak and inexperienced swimmers, and I witnessed the crew, Vanessa and Sean, provide extra care, allowing them to have a memorable experience on the Great Barrier Reef. We didn't really care for Green Island and would have rather spent more time on the boat or at another reef location.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank NOSNED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,277
    176
    50
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carroll, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Coral Reef Tour”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Ocean Freedom was a wonderful experience. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The equipment provided for snorkeling was more than adequate. The staff gave very thorough instructions before allowing anyone in the water. The fact that we were farther from shore allowed us a great view of the reef. The extras were very appreciated: breakfast, lunch, and wonderful afternoon snacks.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank _beckerls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A really great day trip ”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Monday March 6th 7:30 trip
My wife and I took this day trip and found it lots of fun with
Great views of the unspoiled Reef. We met some great people
To spend the trip with. The food and snacks were great and
plentiful you had to buy drinks so suggest you take a pre
frozen bottle of water with you. We are in our 80s so did not
get in the way water but took rides in the glass bottom
boat and the other close up Reef view small boat.
This is a great day trip don't miss it

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Utah, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Barrier Reef Snorkeling Adventure”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The crew on the Ocean Freedom were friendly, informative and accommodating. Once we arrived at the reef (took over an hour each way), the crew fitted us with snorkeling gear and we were ready for the water. The first spot was pretty calm waters. A few of the crew members led those who were interested on a guided tour of the sea life below. After over an hour, we moved to the second spot for more water adventure. Some of our fellow travelers were scuba people, too. They offered an introductory class for those interested. Anyway, by the time we reached the second spot, the weather had turned pretty ugly and the seas were choppy. We still did the water adventure, but it was tough...hard to see much with the seas pushing everyone around. Still, the Ocean Freedom crew was supportive and tended us very well. It was fun to see so many beautiful fish, turtles and stingray.
The boat is VERY nice, too. The tour featured a wonderful buffet lunch on board, as well. We would highly recommend Ocean Freedom for a visit to the Great Barrier Reef.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great trip: Ocean Freedom”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I had a perfect day! The crew was awesome, snorkelling and diving well organized and food was also very good... one of the best experiences in Cairns.
Definitely worth every penny!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank sismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing