We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“@YumchaAddict reviews expensive train to Brisbane airport”

Brisbane's Airtrain
Ranked #61 of 391 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Airtrain connects passengers from the Brisbane Airport to the city in 20 minutes, and travels express to the Gold Coast. Passengers can catch Airtrain and Tram for travel to the heart of Surfers Paradise via a transfer at Helensvale rail station to the G:link tram service. Airtrain was awarded a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2017 and is highly regarding as a preferred method of transport from Brisbane Airport with more than 24 million passenger trips have been made since its launch in 2001. You can pre-book tickets online for travel between Brisbane Airport and every station in South East Queensland. All ticket purchases receive a discount with group fares attracting substantial discounts, starting with the "City Duo Saver" for two people travelling together between the Airport and city one-way just AUD30. You can also purchase tickets at the station or travel via go card.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Extremely expensive! Even more expensive than Sydney (unthinkable) ?!?

Prior to travelling, I phoned their transport info toll-free phone number to check that a specific station ticket office would be open, so I could easily buy a high-value ticket.

Arrived at a suburban train station to find that no staff were available at the ticket office (even though there was a sign next to the ticket window, clearly stating this office was supposed to be open).

Only option was a clunky vending machine - I was forced to insert $23 worth of notes and coins (extremely inconvenient) in a hurry, just minutes before the train arrived?!?

This absence of customer service is completely unacceptable considering that Queensland is hosting an international sports event (the Commonwealth Games).

Queensland Tourism is let down by substandard public transport!

1  Thank Yumcha_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirtrainRep, Manager at Brisbane's Airtrain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Yumcha_Addict,

Thank you for your feedback.

Disappointing to read you did not deliver the service you were after, I am happy to pass on your feedback to Queensland Rail if you can provide further information around which Suburban station you travelled from.

Also if you pre-book online, you can purchase an e-ticket and avoid the machine/ticket office plus you have the added bonus of a discount up to 15%.

Kind regards

Airtrain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"air train"
in 44 reviews
"the gold coast"
in 65 reviews
"brisbane airport"
in 42 reviews
"central station"
in 37 reviews
"return ticket"
in 13 reviews
"international terminal"
in 12 reviews
"train service"
in 11 reviews
"nerang station"
in 7 reviews
"much cheaper than a taxi"
in 7 reviews
"change trains"
in 6 reviews
"trains run"
in 6 reviews
"train times"
in 5 reviews
"varsity lakes"
in 5 reviews
"luggage storage"
in 5 reviews
"easy transport"
in 11 reviews
"efficient service"
in 8 reviews
"peak hour traffic"
in 5 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The Brisbane Airtrain is an afford and convenient option to get from the airport to the Gold Coast via Brisbane city with several suburban stops. I needed to get to Canungra and this service was the cheapest option via the Nerang station.

The train is spacious with plenty of room for luggage or large families and has a security presence on the train.

$33 for the ticket and departing every 20 mins, perfect.

Thank nathanfreeman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirtrainRep, Manager at Brisbane's Airtrain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

Great to see you found the Airtrain hassle free. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Regards

Airtrain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

2 return adult tickets for $60 from domestic airport to central, this also included my 2yr old son.
This was definitely much more convenient and hassle free with my son, so i didn't need to lug around a car seat or try to find a taxi with a baby seat.
Trains came every 15-20 mins
I brought the tickets online and was surprised to receive a $10 discount at check out, the tickets could be printed or available on a smart phone.
There was a separate line for pre-purchased tickets so was able to walk straight through.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Thank Ricaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirtrainRep, Manager at Brisbane's Airtrain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

Great to see you found the Airtrain hassle free. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Regards

Airtrain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Firstly I was taken aback about the price of the ticket. Then with problems with the outdated ticket machine I approached the staff who said “ if you are English you should understand what options to choose”. How rude. I won’t be using you again!

1  Thank davejb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirtrainRep, Manager at Brisbane's Airtrain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your feedback.

Disappointing to read that Airtrain did not deliver the service you were after. Our on time running has been 99% and if you pre-book online, you can get discounts of up to 15%.

In relation to the staff can you please email marketing@airtrain.com.au and we will investigate this as this is not behaviour we accept from our staff.

Kind regards

Airtrain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Got off the plane, short walk to the train station. Waited 5 mins for the train. Smooth 20 min ride to the city. Train was clean, luggage racks, lots of seats. Got off at Central - all so easy. 5 min walk to our hotel. Pre-purchased our tickets via the web - at $15 each - it was a $30 trip to the city - half the price of a taxi ride. Reverse trip back to the airport - just as smooth.

Thank johnboy3bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirtrainRep, Manager at Brisbane's Airtrain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

Great to see you found the Airtrain hassle free. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Regards

Airtrain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brisbane's Airtrain also viewed

Queensland, Australia
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Brisbane's Airtrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing