We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Curry in Brisbane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #679 of 4,096 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Hands down the best tikka masala I've ever had. I've been here multiple times, and will return again and again. Service is prompt, friendly and efficient. The food is beautiful - Tikka Masala and Jalfrezie are a must, and the garlic naan is delicious! It's BYO, so perfect for a cheap night out with friends, or a couple. We've had many visitors to Brisbane, and the Taj is always on our list of attractions - it hasn't failed us yet!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big let down - will not return...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I'd heard good things about this place, but our experience didn't live up to any of them.. It was an impromptu visit but the place looked busy, I thought this was a good sign. They got us a table - right down the back near the kitchen - THE worst spot, but we didn't have a booking so we'll take what we can get... The waitress didn't understand anything we ordered and we had to point to everything on the menu. She then got my drink order wrong, brought me red wine instead of the white sparkling I ordered. The entree service was quick, but the food seemed like it was processed and possibly frozen (shahi kebab and meat samosas) - definitely not fresh. The main course took forever to be served and wasn't very good, I asked for hot, but it was more 'strong' in flavour. My husband was also very disappointed with his 'odd' tasting butter chicken. We won't return to the Taj Mahal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pommyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Recommended by Indian Cab Driver - Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My Indian can driver recommended the restaurant. He said even the Indian Cricket team eats there.
It doesn't look like the Taj, but wow, the food...
The menu is not too big, not complicated, and the quality is exceptional.
Service was great, and the wine was affordable.
One of the best Indian restaurants I've been to. (Big Call).

Try the Dahl Makhiti (spelling may be wrong) and the Chicket Bahti.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Samosas Could Use Some Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The food was quite good, except for the mince Samosas, which smelled "meaty." You know that congealed fat meaty smell? I couldn't eat them. Either the meat had been there for too long or some sauce/flavoring is required - they weren't good. I think they were undercooked as the pasty also tasted ho hum.

I was really looking forward to those Samosas!

I preferred Raj's Palace.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank increduloustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Brisbane!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The naan I ate here was the best naan I've eaten in Brisbane. Add to that exceptionally tasty meals and excellent service with a smile, and you have my absolute favourite Indian restaurant in Queensland.

Helpful?
Thank Erinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing