We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overrated!”
Review of Cha Cha Char

Cha Cha Char
Ranked #204 of 5,227 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: USD 18 - USD 70
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Cha Cha Char Wine Bar & Grill is a stylish, contemporary restaurant specialising in high quality, cooked-to-perfection steaks.On our menu you'll find plenty of information - the breed, paddock address, age (12 months to 30 months and older), size (200g to 600g), accompaniments and diet (grass fed/grain fed) as well as snapshots of rare, medium rare, medium and well done steaks to help diners with their preferences.It's harder than you think to get a great steak onto a plate - there are so many variables. Restaurateur John Kilroy is a nationally recognised beef judge and is constantly showcasing products to the hospitality industry where discussions range from the breed of cattle, feed type and age of the carcass. His wide recognition throughout the beef industry means that we receive first class products on a consistent basis, year round. John sources the beef direct from producers and suppliers and ages it for five weeks, giving diners a chance to taste different breeds, brands and regions. That's why it's Brisbane's signature steak restaurant!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Cha Cha Char's at the request of friends who had been told this was the best place in Brisbane for a steak. First up, it's the kind of yuppy place that makes you sit at the bar for 30 minutes so they can sell you $18 cocktails and $10 beers before they take you to your pre-booked table (yes we were on time). Steak was not cooked as per individuals requests, rare was blue, medium was rare. Sounds fussy but when you pay $70 for a piece of rib fillet you expect to get what you ask for in Brisbane's self proclaimed "signature steakhouse". Calamari was overlooked and chewy. Pasta was average, watery and lacked flavour. Be prepared to pay a ridiculous price for a tiny side of vegetables or potato chips. We didn't bother with dessert. Figured if the meals were this bad we wouldn't be spending more money on sweets. Do yourself a favour and buy a $30 steak from somewhere like the Pig & Whistle up the road. It's probably better and half the price. Cha Cha Chat is overpriced and average. Certainly NOT Brisbane's best steak. Or pasta. Or seafood. Or service. Thumbs down.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LeisaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Cha Char, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi LeisaMP, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. As a part of our sequence of service, we do offer all guests upon arrival the opportunity to have a pre dinner drink in the bar, prior to taking their table, whether the table is ready or not. However this is in no way forced upon our guests, as opposed to simply offered. The feedback on the meals, has is appreciated and has been passed on to our chefs to ensure the execution of their meals is consistently being delivered. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience, and can assure you that every effort is made by both the kitchen and the back of house to deliver the best we can and if at times we miss the mark, i can assure that is certainly an isolated occasion. Either way, thanks for the feedback, as we continue to deliver what so many people believe is terrific food and great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a private function, the steak and desert were excellent and the service solid and attentive.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Cha Char, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the review Michael C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We have been wanting to go for years but were always frightened of the price. We bit the bullet the year and we were not disappointed.

The food was delicious, our waiter was extremely helpful with his recommendations and we had a great night.

I will definitely be going back again

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Cha Char, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi KristyB, thanks for the great feedback. We hope you bite that bullet again soon, or at least come back and enjoy another round of our steaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

You need a kings ransom for the best steak, but I was not paying so I had one. AND. . . it was amazing. Fantastic. And I love the pretty young things they employ. If you are going to have plenty of staff, why not be selective, ageist and beautyist, (pick the youngest and best looking) I thought it was great, but one of our party had plastic around his potato so he was not happy, I am gald it was not me. If you can afford it, you will love it.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Cha Char, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi RossM, thanks for the feedback, apologies to your dinner colleague for the plastic. We were made aware of this and can assure that we followed up with the kitchen team to be more Vigalent with their quality control. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Had such a great day today at Brisbane's Bug & Oyster trail @eaglestreetpier. Kids had ball and it turned out to be a perfect way to end school holidays. 14 restaurants participated so was very spoilt for choice. Very happy #foodie
I started with BBQ bugs served in brioche roll filled with Blond d'aquitaine steak tartar from Cha Cha Char Wine Bar & Grill for $18. It was lovely. Wish l could have more.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank foodieadventure80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Cha Char, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the review foodieadventure80, that oyster and bug trail festival was certainly a hit and enjoyed by an overwhelming number of guests. We would love to have you come into the restaurant though and enjoy an ala carte experience also..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha Cha Char also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Cha Cha Char? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing