We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
533
211
57
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
211
57
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caxton street suncorp stadium black hide pillow menu great boutique beautiful hotel bathroom door room service across the road restaurants and bars small balcony star hotel would definitely stay here again bed and pillows inner city car parking mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

A 3 Star at the best Hotel where they had the hide to charge $679 per night to exploit the Paul McCartney night.
The Reception staff were totally disinterested,the room was dirty & we had to continue approaching Reception to get basics such as toilet paper & tea bags.The decor & lighting is so dingy it is very difficult to shave or in the case of my Wife apply makeup.
I hope management of this establishment are not the type that bemoan the fact that no one holidays in Australia.We have stayed in genuine 5 Star hotels in various countries for a lot less than the tariff for this dive.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank leednels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Gambaro Hotel Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear leednels

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am quite concerned and surprised by your feedback. I am aware the team did assist with replenishing some in room items and I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Better reception at the front desk, only interested in getting paid rather then making sure we were all looked after, also struggle with understanding the non English Speaking receptionist, our hot water was none existing complained Saturday morning but still now better next morning, at the rate we paid I would expect a hot shower very disappointing

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hossh762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This hotel is in a great location with very easy access to Suncorp Stadium and lots of restaurants/conveniences near by. The staff were really lovely and easy to deal with in every interaction we had with them. The bed was really comfortable and considering how lively the street below was, the room was wonderfully quiet. The only real issues were of general maintenance in the room, and a really oddly placed window between the bathroom and bedroom, that meant someone lying on the bed could stare directly at a person using the toilet, which could be a little too much information!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Was a great hotel to stay at for an event at Suncorp Stadium.
Would highly recommend.
Clean, modern, excellent service.
Relatively quiet at night despite being on a busy street of restaurants and bars.
Enjoyed sitting on balcony watching the nightlife below!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GIL1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Gambaro is very well positioned, opposite the Caxton Hotel and the streets many restaurants and only a five minute walk to Suncorp. Reception staff handled our arrival efficiently and access to the carpark was a breeze. Our room was very clean, though a bit on the small side, access past the bed was a bit tight. There is free wifi available. Being opposite the pubs and night-life locations, we thought the noise might be a problem, however the double doors proved very effective.
On the down-side, the were a few issues that should be rectified by management. There was no English Breakfast tea, only Earl Grey and herbal stuff, only one coffee sachet plus 3 decaf sachets, very small tea-cups. The ironing board was broken, only one balcony chair, no ashtray on the balcony (previous occupants just threw the butts over the rail). Just some attention to detail by cleaning staff and maintenance staff is needed.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Penycraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews