We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, Authentic Indian Curries”

Raja Indian Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #2,024 of 4,950 Restaurants in Brisbane
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 May 2019

On Sunday 12th May 2019, we ordered a family pack take-away for our evening meal. We opted for a Bhuna Ghost Lamb curry and a Sweet Chicken curry, and meat samosas rather than vegetable samosas. The other items in the family pack were a tandoori platter, 2 garlic naans, 2 tubs of rice, papadums, raita, sweet mango chutney, and kulfi.

The two curries were splendid and each had its unique flavour. The Bhuna Ghost was yummy and spicy (rated extra hot - 4 chillies) while the Sweet Chicken curry was pleasantly sweet but mildly spicy (rated mild - 1 chillie). The curries were a good complement to the rice and naans. We found the naans a tad crispy and hardish though. The tandoori platter was somewhat bland when compared to the curries, and we felt that the tandoori chicken, rib cutlet and kebabs could have been more flavoursome. But on the whole, the family pack was a delightful, sumptuous treat. We first became acquainted with the delicious curries of Raja Indian Restaurant when they were located in the Jindalee Central Shopping Centre in Looranah Street many years ago.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pragasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

I have live right next door for 4 years every night smelling the amazing aromas of this restaurant. Tonight I decided to give Indian a try.... Fantastic value with the banquette for 2 at $44, could not finish my meal, needed a doggy bag. Don't wait for as long as I have give this family run business a go.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank michaelbK7270LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Always great food at this family run restaurant.Having been in the area for at least the last 20 year goes to show that Raja and his family have got the right combination of wonderful quality food and friendly service.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile


The butter chicken is watery. The chicken used is anything but breast and are very dry.
The chicken murgh/ tikka is appalling. No way am I even going to consider touching this. There must be a shortage on spinach also, as the spinach in our naan was very, very limited.
Very unsatisfied, won’t ever return. Not worth the $60+ we just paid!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank katherinemariek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This is the place to go for good quality, authentic, Indian food. Simple yet very good. 5 Stars from us.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank jggfdsdchjhjnbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Raja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.