We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but needs maintenance work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milton Motel Apartments
Ranked #134 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice but needs maintenance work”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had this apartment booked for me through work and I was pretty scared after reading the previous reviews. I am happy to report that "Basil" appears to no longer work there - the two owners - David and his wife - are lovely and friendly. It's more of a relaxed bed & breakfast environment rather than a professional hotel/apartment, but that suited me fine. The room itself was spacious but very old and needed maintenance/cleaning - the walls had cracks in them, there were stains on the linen and the cutlery/crockery were dirty. I think this is because patrons are expected to wash their own dishes or you incur a cleaning fee - and by the looks of things no one had washed them in a very long time! The location is good, right near Park Road which has lots of restaurants and not far from Coronation Drive... but it is right next to the train tracks so it gets quite noisy. Overall, it's a lovely little place but it needs maintenance and an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    12
    8
    36
See reviews for
17
18
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

After I had already booked I read the previous reviews. I was somewhat concerned at what I read. All the poor comments must have worked. I found David pleasant enough with a strange sense of humor, but okay. The room was clean enough although not the best set up, still no probs. wifi worked although a bit ratty over the IPad. Milton has nice restaurants and an excellent beer cafe. Easy walking distance to Suncorp. All in all great value and my wife and I will stay there again.

Pat G Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyatpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

In January I booked a studio apartment with these guys for 3 nights in late march. 2 weeks before arrival I asked for some details about the accommodation : how many people can sit round the dining table. How many can sit on the lounge suite.They sent an email to say that they were fully booked.

When I queried whether one of those bookings was mine, they said no, my booking had been cancelled. This they did without telling me. Had I not asked for some details, I'd have turned up and found that I was without accommodation.

Is this the way Brisbane does business? Well, not in my experience. I booked imediately with Spring Hill Mews.I have always found Spring Hill Mews Apartments to be well appointed, well managed and attractive, Ive always been able to invite firends for dinner there. The people there are courteous efficient and have a high standard of ethics.

I strongly recommend Spring Hill Mews.

Room Tip: Go to Spring Hill Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Lismore,NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Had a booking for family function last weekend, booked two months ago, confirmed twice with David(manager) by phone, when we arrived fill in manager said no booking was made in our name, and David was unavailable. Sorry, too bad! No effort to help us was made.
When we calmed down, we found a very pleasant ALTERNATIVE ACCOMMODATION in Park Road Milton, Central Cosmo Apartments, weekend rates are quite cheap.
The location of Milton Motel Apartments may be the only positive, the bad management is not worth the anxiety! Family members that did have a room for the weekend mentioned the filthy state of their rooms!
If I had read the very negative reviews I wouldn't have booked with Milton Motel Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MargoMLismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nhulunbuy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The guy is a crook, we booked weeks in advance only to have him call the day before and say "oh sorry the girl didn't book it properly and luckily i just found it. You should be so lucky" But still can't stay because he's booked out. (The real reason is he took the advance booking but when it got closer he got more money for our room)
Absolute criminal and disgrace. DO NOT STAY THERE!!

Room Tip: find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TEverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 km away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
123 reviews
0.4 km away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#74 of 157 in Brisbane
151 reviews
1.4 km away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#31 of 157 in Brisbane
436 reviews
2.1 km away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#72 of 157 in Brisbane
188 reviews
2.4 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Motel Apartments

Property: Milton Motel Apartments
Address: 19 Sheehan St | Milton, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $101 - $186
Hotel Class:4 star — Milton Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from the Brisbane River, Milton Motel Apartments offers free Wi-Fi and an outdoor pool. All apartments feature a balcony/ patio and a kitchenette with a stove. Some offer city views. Milton Apartments is a 3-minute walk from the restaurants of Park Road and a 5-minute walk from XXXX Ale House and Suncorp Stadium. It is a 5-minute drive from Brisbane city centre. All air-conditioned apartments feature a lounge with a flat-screen TV with cable channels and a DVD player. They offer a washing machine, ironing facilities and outdoor furniture. The kitchenette also has a microwave and a fridge. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Milton Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Motel Apartments Hotel Brisbane
Milton Motel Apartments Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing