We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annie's Shandon Inn
Ranked #9 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Annie's is located in an excellent position just a couple of minutes walk to almost everything. It is impeccably clean and tidy inside. The staff are lovely and helpful and the breakfasts are simple but delicious and more than adequate. We had two ensuite rooms downstairs and they were both well kept and fully functional. We were most impressed to find a lounge on our floor with fridge, kettle, tea, coffee, cutlery and television. The staff went well beyond the call even arranging airport transfers and storing our luggage before we left for the airport. I highly recommend Annie's to anyone looking for value for money accommodation, close to the Brisbane CBD. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    80
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
76
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst we explored Brisbane. The B&B is located in an excellent position - a couple of minutes from the train station and the centre of Brisbane - also very easy to explore the botanical gardens and the Southbank from here. The staff were really friendly, despite being rotational - we could ask anything and we got a useful response! It was a quirky place to stay, but did feel a little bit like staying at your grandmother's house (probably to most people from England..!) Excellent facilities - $5 to access wi-fi for however long we wanted, and $5 to do a load of washing. Would stay again for a central, comfortable base in Brisbane. Our room was a bit small and we did have to share a bathroom - maybe avoid room 12 if you can, as we were right opposite the stairs and near the shared bathrooms. Communal TV area and lots of leaflets / local info on offer, which was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The best words I can use to describe Annie's are charming and quaint. The internal decor gives the building an olde-world charm, which is complemented by the historic sepia photos in the corridors. Annie's represents amazing value with a tariff of only $70 (single) or $80 (double) per night (with a shared bathroom) or $90 with an ensuite, including a free continental breakfast of cereal and toast, despite being located within walking distance of the centre of Brisbane. Free parking is available in the lane at the rear (Wimpole Lane), although this is very limited so you have to advise the owners EARLY to ensure you can get a carpark.

I stayed in a non-ensuite twin room, which was simply furnished with two beds, a chair and a bedside table. The rooms are equipped with both a ceiling fan (high ceilings) and an airconditioner and a real plus for me is the opening windows - in so many places there is no opportunity for fresh air.

A few things for travellers to note:
* For the non-ensuite rooms there are separate male and female bathrooms,
* While soap and towerls were provided, shampoo and facewashers were not,
* The stairway is steep and narrow, and may be difficult to negotiate with a large suitcase,
* The curtains are not lightproof and (particularly for those on the northern side of the building) in summer the sun rises very early. If you would like to sleep in a bit eyeshades would assist!
* The room did not have televisions or radio; there was a television in the breakfast room.
* The adjacent building had a fairly noisy wall mounted airconditioner - while this is nothing to do with Annie's I had to shut my window at night because it was too noisy to sleep.

Tea and coffee is available 24 hours per day in the breakfast room. There is also a fridge and microwave in the breakfast room which guests can use. The B&B also has a laundry available for guests to use.

The breakfast room was very friendly at breakfast time, with lots of travellers holding discussions.

Internet access is only $5 for the duration of your stay, which is a significant plus.

Will certainly stay here again if I get the opportunity.

TC

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I can't find what not to like about this place and the lovely people running it.
The location is within cbd, just 2 blocks away from train central station where you can take trains to all over brisbane eg goldcoast, and few minutes to brisbane cbd on foot. Airport shuttle drop and pick up the customer in front of its door, the free shuttle bus stop is just across the road.
On arrival around 8pm, we were served immediately, sent to already prepared room within 5 minutes. No hassle at all, a warm welcome for the tired mind and body!. We had an ensuite room downstairs which is just perfect in size and proportion. It was clean, fresh and cute. The toilet and shower is clean and fully functional. There are lounges in at our floor and the reception floor, not sure if they have another one upstairs. It has fridge, kettle, sink, cutleries, plate,mugs, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, tv,chairs and tables complete with city guides that we can use anytime we want. We really feel at home and at ease.
Breakfast is basic wit toasts and cereal, juices, milk and hot drink but the warm and personal service made it exceptional. The people were beyond lovely..really trying to help out as much as they can. They even call the airtrans shuttle to change my departure time and print out the amended booking without any qualms when I asked for help. That's besides lovely travel tips and advice given out. They let us keep our luggages for hours in between check out and flight time (as our flight was after midnight) and we also use their lounge to relax while waiting to go to airport, had tea, watched tv as well as use their toilet and shower to freshen up.
I can't find any fault at annies...the price is very good too, very cheap for the value.
I wont hesitate to stay at annies again should I go to brisbane in future

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aracolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My friend and I stayed at Annie Shandon's Inn in October for 2 nights. The room is small and basic but very clean and cozy. We stayed at basement floor, there is a kitchen on 1st floor and to our surprise, there is another kitchen on basement as well. The utensils in the kitchen were very clean, to our delight. We did our best to keep the place clean as well.

The staffs were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was basic, cereal, milk, and bread. They had wholemeal bread which is a healthier choice but I wish they had that AND white bread for us to choose.

Last but not least, location, excellent, just minutes away from central stations.

My friend and I love the place and totally enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.1 km away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.2 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
4.8 km away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Shandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Shandon Inn

Property: Annie's Shandon Inn
Address: 405 Upper Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $74 - $89
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie's Shandon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Annie's Shandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annie`s Hotel Brisbane
Annie's Shandon Inn Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing