We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice B and B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie's Shandon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Annie's Shandon Inn
Ranked #7 of 65 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice B and B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. The room is nice and quaint. The only downside was the large gap above the door (part of the room design, not an accident), which meant that light (and noise) from the corridor comes into the room. When we stayed the only noise was slight snoring from a room several doors down, and the corridor wasn't too bright - but I do much prefer properly enclosed rooms.
The breakfast was very nicely presented though very basic (toast and cereal). Reasonably good location a 10 minute walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    74
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
9
70
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Staying here for 1 night with husband and friends. My emails were responded promptly and informative -within 1 day . There's a ATM nearby . And its only 10-15min walking distance to central ,mall, shops . also 15 min walking distance to the train station. Room is very clean, they provide towels and soap . Breakfast is basic but its just sufficient for us . Decoration is sweet and charming . Our room was upstairs , and we shared bathroom / toilet with other guest (separate female and male common bathroom . It's clean with hot water. Couldn't ask for more for that such affordable price. Our trip was on budget but the satisfied experience is as same as when we stay in hotel .

Room Tip: You can bring your own bottle waters. They provide in the room, but only 1 bottle. Specially if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumincir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I liked the history relating to the building, the staff were friendly and that it was only 150m from the train station, that I could do my washing and drying of my clothes, also liked that breakfast was included.

For $70- maybe it was cheap to an Aussie and if you relate it to other accommodation yes its probably value for money.
However due to the high currency exchange rates then this is espensive including everything else in Australia.

Dislikes
I to had a tiny hand basin and nowhere to put my toothbrush and things, their where holes in the wall I assume from a previous towel rail which hadn't been replaced, the mattress squeaked when turning arround, luckily I was able to sleep all of the time despite the noise from people coming from the hallway at any times and early in the morning for breakfast.
All the ground floor rooms had wooden slats above the room door with gapping holes in it and was covered with white cardboard, I assume to stop any light come in off the hallway, however this is where the noise issue would be as well as a 1"gap under the door.
On the room door it says that they have a terminal for internet but the staff said this is not the case, they only do free wi-fi

Overall I did had a good stay and sleep, "it all depends on point of view, it's only and Inn as the sign says" don't come here with any exectations which you choose to bring from other places

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmithyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Örebro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights during an international meeting. The place has a very special charm, is clean and the people who work there are incredible friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small and basic, but also clean and charming. The breakfast that is included is basic but adequate. The only drawback with this charming place is that its a bit noisy, especially on the upper floors. If you are unlucky you will spend some time listening to other peoples night time Skype-conversations in the hall way. But still, its totally worth the money if you like friendly and charming places!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

An older style bed and breakfast. Walking distance to CBD. Staff are fantastic, friendly and very helpful. I booked direct and booked a single room. I got upgraded to a double room for the same price. TV in the dining room. Fans and small air conditioning/heating in room. Breakfast - cereal, toast and orange juice. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 km away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#8 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#33 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.8 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
2.3 km away
Ellie's Guesthouse
Ellie's Guesthouse
#23 of 65 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Shandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Shandon Inn

Property: Annie's Shandon Inn
Address: 405 Upper Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $77 - $92
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie's Shandon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Annie's Shandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annie`s Hotel Brisbane
Annie's Shandon Inn Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing