We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indonesian Meals”

Shalom Indonesian Restaurant
Ranked #1,172 of 4,950 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 December 2018

My wife and I had an early lunch here on Friday 7th December 2018. The menus were better laid out in book-form since our last visit, and the air-conditioning was cool and comfortable. For starters, we had Tahu Gejrot (fried tofu in a sweet and spicy vinegar sauce). Though a tad chilli-hot, the blend of flavours was very nice.

My main meal was Ayam Goreng Penyet (fried chicken with a hot and sour sauce). The chicken was tender and the sauce was more sour than hot. The dish came with a plate of rice. I preferred eating it with the sambal terasi (hot shrimp paste in oil) which was provided on the table in a metal receptacle. The sambal terasi was especially authentic and quite splendid!

My wife’s main meal was Soto Betawi with a plate of rice. The Soto Betawi is a Jakarta-style beef soup. It tasted very much like the Malay sup kambing (mutton soup). Generally, this was quite palatable except for the few pieces of tripe (stomach) that was mixed with the meat.

Our desserts were Es Kelapa Muda (Iced coconut water with rose syrup, with pieces of coconut flesh), and Es Campur Durian (a mixture of durian, black grass jelly, arenga palm seeds, agar-agar jelly, and avocado covered over with finely-shaved ice and doused with syrup). Both of these were refreshing, although were not used to having coconut water mixed with rose syrup.

Overall, we enjoyed the different flavours of these dishes, and we would certainly go back to try some of the other interesting Indonesian dishes on their menu. The two ladies who served us were pleasant and gracious. The hospitality was typically Indonesian.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pragasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Awesome sambal for Malaysians and Indonesians that miss the sambal back home. Varities of Ayam Bakar and Goreng to choose from. Quick and friendly service.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank yuslian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

My favourite dish is beef short ribs. My favourite spicy sauce is Shalom but its definitely not for the faint-hearted. Much better than its other branch in Sydney (which I will never return to).

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Godzilla1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This place offers really nice and authentic Indonesian food. The service was very friendly which I really appreciate when dining out. It's a small restaurant probably with more outside seating than indoor seating but if you like Indonesian food, this is a nice place for it.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenT629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Visited here couple of times before. Think they've changed their price couple of months ago. Still worth it though. The spiciness is amazing.

Not a fan of their es cendol but the rest is great.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Faz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shalom Indonesian Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Shalom Indonesian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.