We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hostel In My Favorite AU City”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #10 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hostel In My Favorite AU City”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My brother and I stayed here for nearly a week in September of 2011. Neither one of us were disappointed with the accommodations here. We chose the six-bed room The room was very basic (as with any hostel) but the bed was comfortable and everything including the bathroom was very clean. Head up to the 5th floor for plenty of activities and beautiful views of the city.

We also spent a couple of hours each evening in the restaurant/ bar near the lobby. The food was good but portions were rather small for the prices. Beer was reasonably priced and there are plenty of comfortable places to sit and talk.

As for the location- we found it to be convenient to everything we wanted to do. Bring a good pair of shoes because this is a great city to explore on foot! You'd be cheating yourself out of some great experiences by taking a cab or bus.

The only complaint I have here was the Wi-Fi access. Too expensive!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    249
    80
    24
    18
See reviews for
21
107
236
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at this hostel back in December. We had a two-bed room and it was the worst experience we had during our one-month trip in Australia. The room was located at a lower level, with a tinny window facing a back street and the garbage dumpster. At 6 am the bargabe trucks woke us up with their noise. You couldn't open the blinds of the window if you needed any privacy. The room itself looked like a jail cell. Even though it was clean, all you had there were two uncomfortable beds, two lockers, a tinny table that you couldn't use for anything and one chair. If there are two beds in the room, why not put two chairs? In the evening, for a couple of hours there were people screaming and arguing in the hallway and nobody did anying about it and generally the level of noise throughout the night was way too high. We couldn't have any rest during the two-night stay at this hostel. For $100 a night you would expect something a little bit more decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and wished it was for longer! I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was really clean with comfy beds (2 sets of bunks). The bathrooms were also clean!

The best part about this YHA? The top floor. There's a rooftop pool with a gorgeous view of the city and river, a massive kitchen and rooftop patio, a free pool room and a big tv/film room. Met lots of great people here and had a really good time!

It's in a good location, just a short walk into the city centre. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Lagoon, but it is definitely worth the walk - recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

No public transport except from the bottom of a long hill.
Bad mattress.
Rude staff member.
No window in room, which is fine if you're told prior to paying, but I wasn't.
Don't stay here if you don't have your own transport.
Bad shower.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ineedmrhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy K, Director of Sales at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Ineedmrhols
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I would like to point out that the Transport hub of Brisbane City is located 500 metres from the hostel with buses, trains and taxis. Majority of our guests do not have transport as it is not needed. Not all rooms at our hostel have windows overlooking the Brisbane River, please email any special requests upon booking and we will do our best to accommodate you.
It would be appreciated if you could ellaborate on the rude staff member as we pride ourselves on friendliness to guests.
Thanking you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hostel is located close to the Roma Street station and a short walk from the city's museum and shopping district. One of the things that I liked the most about the hostel were the spacious rooms and the kitchen facilities. The kitchen is located on the 5th floor and from there you can access the rooftop patio and pool area. It's a great place to have breakfast and/or dinner while enjoying the views of the city.

Room Tip: You'll always get a better deal when you have a YHA or Hostelling International membership, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 km away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
2.9 km away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
2.0 km away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 160 in Brisbane
1,557 reviews
2.5 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
2.2 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#25 of 128 in Brisbane
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brisbane

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $30 - $101
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane City YHA Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing