We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious attitude problem”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serious attitude problem”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Didn't expect much for $99, and my expectations were exceeded (if you understand my comment).
There is a SERIOUS issue with the rude, extremely curt young Chinese receptionist.
She is without doubt the rudest, most indifferent receptionist I have encountered within 30 years of global travel.
Management (if there is one), sack her immediately, you have NO idea what a liability she is for your business, (relative or not).

Will never return and urge my colleagues to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    53
    20
    24
See reviews for
13
52
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

budget concious... Perfect stay... Not flash but comfortable.
nothing was too difficult in requiring early check in due to early plane arrival.
excellent location with FREE undercover parking.
easy walk to south bank

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannabecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed one night there. I have been a regular customer over quite a few years but I won't be back again. It has slipped drastically in recent times. Reception was unfriendly and curt. I am used to having a credit card swipe for security reasons but this time they actually charged me $150 as a deposit for the key. Sure it was voided on departure but one would expect a swipe of my credit card would have been sufficient. The key is required to enter each floor of the motel as there are no lifts and this posed problems from two perspectives. It required putting down luggage to open the door each time. My wife was delayed after the first door and was stranded in the stairwell without a key so had to go back down to the ground floor. One in the room the smell was over-powering and despite opening the balcony door, the smell remained for the full duration of our stay. The air conditioner was so noisy that I had to turn it off during the night to be able to sleep at all. Overall I would not be able to recommend these premises. It would appear that lots of attention has been spent on security and very little on maintenance or staff training in hospitaliity. I won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikejordan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Good location, rooms were sufficient and loved the balcony. Secure parking and a pool were a bonus.
Our room wasn't the cleanest and noise from within the complex really travelled and echoed about being quite noisy with people coming from town in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Good position, clean but no Iron and ironing board (have to go to laundry to get them) is not convenient for business booking. Tomorrow's clothes hanging over shower to get rid of creases. Won't be back because of this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapphireResort, Management Representative at Sapphire Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Jennifferr,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our services. I would like to kindly inform you that on request we are more than happy to provide guests with an iron and ironing board if they don't want to use the ones in the laundry.

Again, we are disappointed to hear that your experience at the Sapphire Resort did not meet your expectation.

Kind regards,

Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.8 km away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#33 of 159 in Brisbane
2,048 reviews
0.2 km away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#26 of 128 in Brisbane
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
South Central
South Central
#73 of 128 in Brisbane
42 reviews
0.4 km away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#22 of 128 in Brisbane
291 reviews
0.1 km away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#61 of 128 in Brisbane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brisbane

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Property: Sapphire Resort
Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane
Sapphire Resort Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing