We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #135 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Affordable and clean hotel with a standard room with kitchenette. Location is superb at these prices. No room service but you just can go down and collect your food from ground floor no big deal. Really cheap parking also for inner city. I'll definitely come back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cabba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

A poor rating for this joint is being very kind. Apparently popular with Shanghai tourists, the vibe was bad on walking in. The room was basic but the cleanliness was abysmal. Had the bed been used? Unlikely, but the synthetic bed cover smelled bad and the sheets were limp and crumpled and uninviting. But I was tired after a long flight. I did find long black hair in the bed.

It was easy to leave at 5 am for the airport; a joy to leave this place never to return. If properly cleaned, it would be acceptable. As I found it, and unless you're broke, a few dollars more will get you a good room in the Urban or the Grand Chancellor.

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room is go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had an excellent adventure in Australia due in no small part to the help and knowledge of the staff. We had a well kept and warm hotel, it was winter in Australia, to stay in the breakfasts were nourishing, hot, and very tasty. The room was well maintained by housekeeping. This hotel is located close to public transportation making it easy to get around. Australia is a wonderful country to visit and these people made it special. Thanks again. Mike and Carol

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank L4594UEmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Checked in late at night to be put into a room that wasnt cleaned. Called down to reception and they did change the room promptly.

Rooms are in need of some renovation and just general maintenance. Cracked tiles which could cut your feet etc.

Shower pressure was extremely good.

Blankets provided had stains on them and insufficient bedding was provided for my daughter even though we included her in the booking. It was lucky we always travel with a blanket for her in the car.

Parking is somewhat annoying with the stacker system. No secure gate or enclosed parking area. It is just an open carpark charged at $9 a day. Parking attendant isn't very friendly at all and acts like its inconvenience when you want your car out.

This place however was somewhat cheaper than others in the area and now I know why. I think next time I would spend the extra money. I would expect the condition with maintenance etc but cant excuse the stained blankets provided that they seem to think is ok.

Wifi is terrible but thats how the free wifi usually is at all accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LSN1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel previously and had no problems at all, but this time it was different. On arrival, the lock on the door didn't work and we had to wait for it to be fixed (needed new batteries for the swipe card). The hot water wasn't hot and we had to have lukewarm showers for four days. The television needed re-tuning and we had to wait for that to happen. The washing machines on the 3rd floor weren't working (the availability of washing machines was one of the reasons we chose this hotel) and when we mentioned this to the reception staff, we were told that we could take our washing to the nearest laundromat, a 25-minute walk away and it was then 9pm! But most of all, the room was quite cold at night. Even in Brisbane the nights can get cold and although there was a heating/airconditioning unit in the room, the heating switch had been removed from the controls. We found an extra blanket in the cupboard but it was still cold. Perhaps there is new management since our last visit?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BandBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
0.2 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 168 in Brisbane
844 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Gregory Terrace Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 168 in Brisbane
456 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#46 of 168 in Brisbane
787 reviews
0.2 km away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#72 of 168 in Brisbane
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brisbane

Been to Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments

Address: 193-197 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brisbane
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing