We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo Inchcolm(Brisbane)
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
USD 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
USD 180
USD 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jen Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
USD 119
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 157
USD 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
67
120
128
70
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
120
128
70
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationwickham terracesmall kitchenshort staybw
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

A poor rating for this joint is being very kind. Apparently popular with Shanghai tourists, the vibe was bad on walking in. The room was basic but the cleanliness was abysmal. Had the bed been used? Unlikely, but the synthetic bed cover smelled bad and the sheets were limp and crumpled and uninviting. But I was tired after a long flight. I did find long black hair in the bed.

It was easy to leave at 5 am for the airport; a joy to leave this place never to return. If properly cleaned, it would be acceptable. As I found it, and unless you're broke, a few dollars more will get you a good room in the Urban or the Grand Chancellor.

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room is go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had an excellent adventure in Australia due in no small part to the help and knowledge of the staff. We had a well kept and warm hotel, it was winter in Australia, to stay in the breakfasts were nourishing, hot, and very tasty. The room was well maintained by housekeeping. This hotel is located close to public transportation making it easy to get around. Australia is a wonderful country to visit and these people made it special. Thanks again. Mike and Carol

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank L4594UEmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Checked in late at night to be put into a room that wasnt cleaned. Called down to reception and they did change the room promptly.

Rooms are in need of some renovation and just general maintenance. Cracked tiles which could cut your feet etc.

Shower pressure was extremely good.

Blankets provided had stains on them and insufficient bedding was provided for my daughter even though we included her in the booking. It was lucky we always travel with a blanket for her in the car.

Parking is somewhat annoying with the stacker system. No secure gate or enclosed parking area. It is just an open carpark charged at $9 a day. Parking attendant isn't very friendly at all and acts like its inconvenience when you want your car out.

This place however was somewhat cheaper than others in the area and now I know why. I think next time I would spend the extra money. I would expect the condition with maintenance etc but cant excuse the stained blankets provided that they seem to think is ok.

Wifi is terrible but thats how the free wifi usually is at all accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LSN1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel previously and had no problems at all, but this time it was different. On arrival, the lock on the door didn't work and we had to wait for it to be fixed (needed new batteries for the swipe card). The hot water wasn't hot and we had to have lukewarm showers for four days. The television needed re-tuning and we had to wait for that to happen. The washing machines on the 3rd floor weren't working (the availability of washing machines was one of the reasons we chose this hotel) and when we mentioned this to the reception staff, we were told that we could take our washing to the nearest laundromat, a 25-minute walk away and it was then 9pm! But most of all, the room was quite cold at night. Even in Brisbane the nights can get cold and although there was a heating/airconditioning unit in the room, the heating switch had been removed from the controls. We found an extra blanket in the cupboard but it was still cold. Perhaps there is new management since our last visit?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BandBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stayed at Best Western Astor Metropole last Saturday night for a night in the city. Spent our wedding night here 15 years ago, it was such a beautiful hotel. Checked in an hour earlier which was nice after driving from Sunshine Coast. Noticed that the floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. The mat was dirty as well. The curtains were gaping and I could see that some of the tracks were broken and the sun was coming through. There were no toiletries and the toilet seat was broken. The fridge was rusted. It looked like such a dump compared to when we stayed years ago. Not a pleasant stay. The foyer etc looks lovely but the rooms badly need attention. The only good thing was free wifi.

Room Tip: We won't be back. Try a nicer hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews