We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overnight City Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overnight City Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked a premier balcony two bedroom suite. While it was close to the shops etc this is what we were after. It is very expensive for a basic motel room. They are not luxury but are very overpriced considering. Small balcony no seating, small bathrooms no room to move. We ate in the restaurant the staff were friendly, food was nice, the service was a bit slow considering there were not many people in it. We also got room service and that seemed to be extremely slow. It is very basic amenities considering the price, I would look elsewhere next time. We have stayed at the King George Sebel many times but tried this one as the other could not guarantee a balcony which we prefer and it is basically within the same walking distance. No WiFi for business travelers did have broadband but unless you have the modem is useless for the IPad which is the convienient way to travel nowadays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    395
    131
    23
    13
See reviews for
200
295
64
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A nice hotel but despite the name these are not suites, rather relatively small rooms. Adequate for a casual stay but certainly not for business or longer stays. The rooms are small with the table under the wall mounted television screen. This is impractical if working with the television on in the background.

The pool was cold but the surrounds do get some sun at certain times of the day and unlike many Brisbane hotels which provide 2 sun lounges, there were about 6. Pools are clearly for swimming and not relaxing.

The location is very central , only a block away from the main Queen St shopping mall, a couple of blocks from the casino, 3 blocks form the river side restaurants at Eagle St Pier and about an easy 20 -25 minute walk ( or 5 minute taxi ride) to South Bank where the enormous “beach swimming pool” and surrounding restaurants are a must on a hot lazy Queensland day.

In summary, a well located generic hotel room with adequate service and facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear SaleenXTRM, thank you for your feedback and we are always happy to read balanced comments about guests' experiences. We are pleased to note you enjoyed our central location and other aspects of the hotel. Judging from your comment about the term "suites", you stayed in one of our studios. Whilst comfortable and of the same decor standard as our apartment 'suites', I am sure you will find the latter much more spacious and suitable for a longer visit. These comprise over 75% of our inventory, so in this sense we are more aligned with many 'all suite' hotels, as they are often termed. Please feel free to contact me personally and it would be my pleasure to upgrade you at no extra charge on your next visit. Thank you again for your valuable feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I used to love staying at the Sebel Suites. Then the gfc hit. Even when the massive building site opposite started work at stupid o clock, I stuck with t and brought many customers with me. Even when the I room dining was replaced by microwave meals I stuck with it. Even when the staff left spit rubbish on my floor and old room service trays stank out the floors until early evening I stuck with it. Finally after 4 years of loyal patronage I gave up? Why? Well it's convenient, good food nearby, great pub across the way......parking is easy etc.....my issue is that you get charged for things you didn't do and when you complain thE manager Tom tells you tough luck. I await it's return to former glories. Great location, bad management, no concept of executive key account management. Try the emporium, Novotel or treasury, they get it.

Room Tip: Go else where until they improve. Failing that any end suite from 16 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Alan E, we thank you for your review and will certainly look into your concerns should you wish to make contact with me directly and provide additional information - particularly regarding your remarks about having been charged incorrectly, as I am very surprised about the reaction you have perceived from myself and the hotel. I also note that your review states that you stayed back in June 2011, so we would be very keen to learn more about what has prompted your thoughts at this stage. Please be assured that we will look into the issues directly and diligently if you wish us to pursue them, as we would for any customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were quite dissatisfied with our accommodation. Paying $299 a night for the top floor executive room I would expect to be able to open the bathroom door more than halfway without it hitting the toilet, the room is cramped and poky.
I am 5 feet 8" and the shower head came to my chin! Also I expect when they state that it is a "king bed" it not be 2 singles pushed together. The service and cleanliness is quite poor, (the people in the next room had in room breakfast and their dirty plates sat at our door until we moved them even though the cleaner had apparently "refreshed" our room)! The location is very convenient but I would recommend the Hilton for a bit more money any day which I could never fault! I'm deffinately going back there next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Abi W, thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay with us. We are naturally disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit. Our studio rooms account for only a quarter of our hotel's inventory and whilst they are the equivalent size to a standard hotel room elsewhere, one of our prime features is our one bedroom apartments, which are very spacious and comfortable. This room type also features a full king or queen bed, as opposed to a split king in the studios, which allows for twin configuration. Should you wish to make contact with me directly, I would be more than happy to address your specific concerns and offer an incentive to return, including an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment with our compiments. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel is in a fantastic location if you are doing buisness in the city, rooms are modern, clean and very roomy ( I was given a suite).
My only concern was the internet, i could not get on and when i rang reception to ask there comment was it should be.

Thinking it was my computer i took it to get looked at and got the all clear and when i checked out my colleuges had the same problems, if they want to be a buisness hotel must get the internet fix, rest is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear MattyG69, thank you for your comments and it is great to see that our hotel meets your needs when travelling to Brisbane on business. However, we completely understand the importance of a fast and reliable internet connection to our business guests. We believe we have pin-pointed the underlying issue that was recently causing you and your colleagues difficulty and we are speaking with our internet provider right now to have it rectified as soon as possible. We hope to resolve it quickly and trust we will see you again soon. We would welcome you contacting us directly following your next visit, to confirm this has improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 161 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $137 - $279
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel
The Sebel Brisbane Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing