We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and gracious hotel in a top position”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and gracious hotel in a top position”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Staying in Brisbane overnight we decided on the Royal on the Park as we had been there about 10 years ago. The refurbishment throughout the hotel has been well done. The swimming pool out the back seems very family friendly. The business centre did what we needed - print our boarding passes for the next day. The hotel is opposite the Botanical Gardens and is close to the river walk where we had dinner. Staff were relaxed and friendly. The hotel is on the edge of the CBD. but has a taxi rank outside and is opposite the free shuttle bus service. We'll defiitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviennemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to provide your great review.

We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed the Refurbished, Refreshed and Renewed Royal on the Park and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    460
    143
    30
    20
See reviews for
248
454
76
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I regularly have business in Brisbane and had hoped to add Royal on the park to my usual hotels but sadly it lets itself down in a number of ways:-

1) The internet - I have seen previous comments criticising the price and the manager Nick Ellis replies thats its in line with other hotels. Well, its not, yes $27 for 24hrs may be in line with other hotels but other hotels are unlimited bandwidth unlike the Royal which offers 200mb on its cable or 100mb on the wifi. In this day and age a 100mb is easily burnt and results in the internet seeming shocklingly expensive. Both the Stamford and meriton are $25 and if they have bandwidth limit i have never even come close to hitting it and have watched TV shows online even.

2) The lobby just feels very 1980's somehow

3) i had a room with two double beds yet only 1 bedside lamp, standard practice is usually a lamp to each side of the bed

The royal blls itself as a 4 star establishment but to really compete needs to get the above right but also the little things given the price they charge like branded miniatures in the bathroom and at least one complimentary bottle of water in the rooms.

Overall I left feeling let down by this hotel, however, on the positive the room was clean and the bed and the pillows were comfy but given I often find the Royal priced at a similar level to the far superior Stamford plaza I just cant see myself staying here again until they fix the above.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your opinions to us.

I would be keen to speak with you regarding your comments about our internet offering because your experience does not reconcile fully with the system that the hotel has in place. I would like to check that you have connected using the in-room guest system and not the public access system ensuring you have been billed correctly for your usage.

When purchasing the $27.50 from your room, hotel guests are allocated 1000mb of data at full speed (approx. 20mbs) – which is then slowed to 128kpbs after 200mb is used. This Fair Use policy is applied by our internet provider to ensure that all guests who use the internet are not affected by one guest who monopolises the network by downloading vast amounts of data such as movies or video. I can assure you that Docomo-Intertouch who are the internet providers of the Stamford group also have a similar system in place.

Having said that – we recognise that internet services in Australian hotels seem overpriced and under delivered.

Whilst I cannot provide full details now as we are still finalising the small print, Royal on the Park is pleased to say that we are committed to launching an industry changing internet service to our guests that will be incomparable with any other major Australian hotel. We will not only provide speeds never before seen but also free data allowances for every guest and after that allowance is used, we will provide the cheapest internet at the fastest speed possible on the Australian Market. I do hope to have more on this subject within a month and once this system goes live, I’d be more than happy to organise an unlimited trial for you on your next stay. We plan to have this new project up and running within the next 3 months.

Our lobby features the original walnut paneling from when the hotel was built and is one of the only remaining materials after our full refurbishment. We have kept these panels as our strong clientele of regular guests tell us that they love the “club like” feel the paneling provides. I do appreciate that the wood paneling may not be everyone’s style.

With regards to your comments about branded amenities – that’s also a “watch this space area” and I hope that within a month or two I may be able to fix this issue for you as well.

Once again, I thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback – I hope you can see we are a hotel that listens to our guests and within a few months of today a number of the issues you raised will be fixed permanently and I can welcome you back again.

Please do contact myself directly on 07 3211 3411 if you wish to discuss further or take me up on the offer of the trial to our next internet system.

Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed overnight to attend the Lenny Kravitz concert in the Botanic Gardens which is directly opposite the hotel. WeWe knew the hotel was quite old but were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the rooms. Very comfy bed and chaise lounge was a great spot to read the Sunday papers. It is a quick walk into the city mall and shopping district. Location wise I feel that you couldn't go wrong at this hotel.
Some really thoughtful touches that impressed are the items that can be purchased at front desk. They are on display in a cabinet in lift area and include a soccer ball (to use in the garden opposite) card games etc. These items were not overpriced. All staff we had contact with were friendly and they agreed to a complimentary late checkout.
There were some excellent package rates including parking but we booked last minute and there were no deals available. The room was quite pricey but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review!

We are so pleased you found our location perfect – we always are in such high demand when there is a concert in the Gardens or at Riverstage which may explain the rates for your rooms. Remember for future that the further in advance you book, the better the rate you’ll receive. We do offer some excellent advance saver discounts if you book through our website.

I’m also pleased to see that you noticed some of our finer finishes. Do you also happen to notice the in room Pillow Menu or the new 6 or 8 course degustation menus in our Famous Walnut Restaurant?

Kind Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our first stay here in this recently refurbished hotel. Beautiful view of the gardens from our room, comfy bed, elegant furnishings, efficient staff. Great location in heart of Brisbane. The Walnut Restaurant can be a little noisy but staff always pleasant. Menu average. Would give the smoked duck a miss. So if I must be critical I would encourage the chef to include simple, hearty fare on the menu ...

We will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Boheme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m so pleased to read that after your first stay we can count you as regulars – on your next stay ask our reception team about enrolling in Royal Rewards, our loyalty program that opens the doors for you with exclusive offers and special deals.

I will also pass on your feedback to our Chef for his next menu which we revise quarterly

Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Loved our stay at Royal on the Park - staff were willing to assist and rooms were clean. Bed was soooo comfy. Would definitely stay there again considering the great deal we got. Short walk to everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

I am happy to read that everything was up to your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
985 reviews
0.2 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
969 reviews
0.6 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 159 in Brisbane
546 reviews
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,608 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $147 - $326
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane, Queensland
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing