We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, convenient and great service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Ranked #89 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the venue for a week for work and also hired a board room. I must say I really enjoyed the convenience of closed to everything including china town, valley or the city. Really nice staff, clean rooms and views of city and the Storey (not sure about the spellings) Bridge are worth killing for. I did have an issue with the air conditioning however was fixed very quickly. Nice breakfast, bar and bar staff. Moderately priced considering all the features above. My rating is 7/10 for the property.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Arjunnatthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caureenmcatee, General Manager at Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Arjunnatthan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Oakwood Hotel and Apartments.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and that the staff were accommodating and the rooms were clean.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Oakwood Hotel and Apartments
caureen.mcatee@oakwoodasia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Booked this place through Amex, and only upon check in did we find out there was a $20 a day parking charge. Not a great start.

Get to the room and funny, musty smell but because it's a bit dated just add it to the part and parcel box. If you get a river view it's the ONLY saving grace for this place.
Partner and I went out for the night and got back late, gone midnight at least but had left the sliding doors open so apartment was cool to go to bed. Being so close to the bridge you have no choice but to close the doors however unless you can sleep essentially on a highway.
Either way, an hour passes and it's getting ridiculously warm, tossing and turning, check the air con and it's on "full blast" and 5 degrees setting but nothing. Partner and I discuss and we pack our things and go home to what's left of the night sleep.

While some of you may think that we should have contacted the manager to address the issue, I have a friend who worked there - spoke to them when the issue was happening. Was advised that the air con has been an issue for at least 18 months now and it was the number 1 complaint when they worked there. Even when they switched people to new rooms they often got switched to a room where the air con was not working there either. Basically to switch rooms at 3am for not even a guarantee that it would solve the problem my partner and I left.

Checking out then I mentioned the air con issue to the manager, to which he advised me that because I had booked my stay with a third party (Amex) I would have to take the issue up with them if I wanted to complain.

TLDR: Terrible customer service and no hope in hell of a good night's sleep

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caureenmcatee, General Manager at Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Jay J

Thank you for the review on your recent experience at Oakwood Hotel and Apartments.

I apologize for the disruption to your stay and I would be deeply obliged if you could contact me at caureen.mcatee@oakwoodasia.com to discuss your comments further in order that I may investigate further.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
General Manager
Oakwood Hotel and Apartments


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

The rooms aren’t very big, we had booked a double room but there was some confusion with the booking so one of us ended up on a trundle bed in the living room. You have to pay to park so we parked in a cheaper parking location nearby.... when I brought our car round to pick my family up the drop off / pick up car park is extremely small, the hotel have their own vehicle constantly parked in front of the hotel and there’s a pillar that blends into the rest of the hotel, this has obviously been an issue as they have black and yellow markings on the bottom of it, unfortunately you can’t see this in the rear view mirror which resulted in a massive dent in the rear bumper of my car!! I was not going fast as this is a very small space to reverse in. This has obviously happened before as the black and yellow marker is very scratched.... I would advise that the markers should be higher up or that they even wrap a plant around the pillar to avoid further damage to any other cars. Very disappointed with the hotels response when I mentioned this suggestion.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caureenmcatee, General Manager at Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Kerry A

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Oakwood Hotel and Apartments.

We have two levels of parking at the hotel and an entrance for drop off and pick up, and we take on board your feedback on the markings on the road, and we will take that into consideration for future development of the hotel.

Oakwood Hotel and Apartments complimentary shuttle has a designated space at the front of the hotel for guests wishing to utilize this.


Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
General Manager
Oakwood Hotel and Apartments
caureen.mcatee@oakwoodasia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This place is perfectly located right next to the colourful Storey Bridge. Great access to the City and Valley, with good dining and bars both in-house and within walking distance. Friendly staff were a bonus!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caureenmcatee, General Manager at Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Mostmello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Oakwood Hotel and Apartments.

Lovely to read that you enjoyed the facilities and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
General Manager
Oakwood Hotel and Apartments
caureen.mcatee@oakwoodasia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

If you can, ask for a room with a view. We had a top floor two bed apartment with views over the Brisbane river and Story Bridge. Wonderful. What was not so wonderful was the air conditioning that did not seem to want to work. We were a bunch of friends who stayed and it was a bit of a shame that the 2nd bedroom could not be closed off from the rest of the accommodation and you had to walk through the main bedroom to get to the toilet, but we knew all that from other reviews that goodness. Room size was good and fit all of our group with visitors quite easily. It is a bit of a party hotel, and doors did not close quietly, nor were the rooms sound proof. The rooms were very clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, we did not have time to visit the pool area unfortunately. Very close to the Valley precinct. I would return.

Room Tip: As for quieter floors, with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caureenmcatee, General Manager at Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear WomanfromoZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Oakwood Hotel and Apartments.

Lovely to read that the staff were friendly and helpful and you enjoyed breakfast. I apologise for the technical difficulties in the air conditioning unit, we have taken the feedback on board and reviewing with our team.

I would love to welcome you upon your return to the hotel, and can be contacted at caureen.mcatee@oakwoodhotel.com.au

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
General Manager
Oakwood Hotel and Apartments, Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.6 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 170 in Brisbane
1,638 reviews
1.4 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#86 of 170 in Brisbane
1,479 reviews
1.6 km away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#38 of 170 in Brisbane
474 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 170 in Brisbane
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane

Address: 15 Ivory Lane, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#20 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#75 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $88 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brisbane's Central Business District and Fortitude Valley, Oakwood Apartments Brisbane is in a prime location for both business and leisure travellers to make the most of their time in this sunny and sophisticated city, be it a short or extended stay. Just a stroll along the Brisbane River you will find a wide array of city restaurants, bars and elegant shopping, while Fortitude Valley provides a feast of Chinatown delights, cool boutiques and lively pubs and clubs. Amid the action, our guests can retreat to a tastefully-appointed haven comprised of 162 studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments boasting spectacular city, Story Bridge and river views. You'll enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and facilities including a full size tennis court, outdoor pool and spa , sauna and gymnasium. No 15 Restaurant and Bar is open daily for breakfast and dinner, and our four conference rooms will suit any occasion from a small business lunch or meeting to a grand affair for up to 220 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Medina Executive Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Medina Executive
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing