We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!”

Port Office Dining Room
Ranked #28 of 7,200 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: AU$15 - AU$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The recently refurbished Port Office Dining Room is open for lunch and dinner, Monday to Saturday from 11.30am till late. The menu showcases a refreshing modern take on Australian gastro-pub food featuring fresh seasonal produce supporting Australian farmers with subtle European and Scottish influences.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great prices. We had a ladies dinner here this past week and shared our meals. The service is exceptional and after dinner, you can move to the bar where it's not overly noisy, but there are lots of nice spots to have a quiet drink and you can have a conversation without having to yell at each other.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharond113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hello Sharon D

Thank you to you and the ladies for attending Fix Restaurant and Wine Bar for your recent ladies dinner.

Appreciate the kind words, and the time taken to provide such a positive review of the establishment.

Hope to see you and the ladies back again.

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016

We enjoyed a dinner here with friends on a Wednesday evening in Brisbane. The atmosphere is nice - formal without being too stuffy - and the food was tasty. Of the meals that we had, the steaks were by far the best pick.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoadzLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hi there RoadzLessTraveled

Thank you for coming in last Wednesday for dinner!

So happy to hear of your experience. Thanks for mentioning our steaks! We individually source Australia's premium level steaks which is what we are known for.

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back!

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Had oysters, steak, and a glass of wine. The food was pretty good and the service was even better, made the dining experience very enjoyable. For oysters, I'd recommend the “natural” ones; you can't really taste the oyster with the strong flavor of Kilpatrick sauce. The steak was okay but for the price I'd expect something a little bit better. They put way too much sauce on the steak, which was a pity. Should've requested the sauce on the side.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chkuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hello Chkuo

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant :)

Great choice with the oysters! And especially at $1 you can't go wrong. Our oysters are sourced from Coffin Bay and our chef individually shucks them daily!

Sorry to hear that you felt there was too much sauce with the steak. Our in-house made accompaniments such as our sauces are a hit with our regular customers and this is definitely something our customers love to indulge in with that extra amount of source. As you mentioned, and I would suggest as well ordering the sauce on the side.

Hopefully we'll get a chance to welcome back you back soon.

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and you are always looking forward to the next time.
Not a complex menu, plenty of variation with generous sizes
Half lamb shoulder and a blue eye fillet - you know the chief is good when you are asked for a warm or cold blue.
Exceptional along with the service congratulations again

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank samsY6551XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hello Sam S

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a glowing review of Fix Restaurant.

YES! The Lamb Shoulder is one of our favourites and tends to sell out each night - so I'm glad you were able to experience this dish.

Sounds like you had a great Monday night!

Look forward to welcoming you back :)

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The restaurant is at the side of the Port Office Hotel. We wondered in on a quiet mid week evening. Service excellent. Good choices on menu. We both had one of the steak choices. Very good steaks at reasonable prices. Would go back.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Gail f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Hi Gail f

Much appreciated :) Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Fix. Our steaks are sourced from Cape Grim which has the world's purest air and some of the world's best steaks! Glad to hear they were on point - and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fix.

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Office Dining Room also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Port Office Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.