We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch! Impeccable hospitality!”

MADO Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 4,950 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 18
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 6 December 2019

On Monday 25th November, my wife and I organised a reunion lunch with a couple of dear friends from Sydney, and Mado Turkish Restaurant was our top choice for the occasion. On arrival, the warmth and hospitality that we experienced from the staff at Mado was most impressive.

Our mains comprised 2 mixed grill platters (Karışık Izgara), one chicken breast meal (Tavuk Göğsü) and one chicken shish meal (Tavuk Şiş), with Turkish apple tea to accompany our lunch. Our friends were absolutely amazed with the food, as my wife and I have always been. Every dish was cooked to perfection and the marinades and blend of spices were unique. For dessert, our treat was Mado’s special baklava. The baklava was delightfully light with nuts and delicious syrup. We would recommend this most highly.

Burcu who waited on us was very courteous, most attentive and helpful. Our blissful and leisurely reunion lunch was most memorable indeed. The pleasant atmosphere and ambience of the restaurant added to our dining experience.

Thank you Mado for making our day, and thank you Umut, Hasan and Burcu for your warm hospitality and excellent service.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pragasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2019

One of our party recalled this restaurant when it was in Sydney so we gave it a try for an early lunch, 11:30.
Like entering the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul with evil eyes all over the place. Initial concern was an entertainment award, OK, but we are here for the food. Turned out to be an excellent choice with large sized kibbeh (no pine nuts ?), excellent shashlik & all the mezze components along with the excellent Turkish bread. Wine list was only Australian so I had a Raki/Ouzo/Arak - you know what I mean, which came in a unique "container". Purely as a digestif you understand! Service was very friendly & efficient & knew the guys on the back of the menu, Kamal & Mehmet, so, obviously Turkish run.
Pricing was very reasonable

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

We were a party of 15 and rather than attempting separate meals we had one of there ‘banquet meals’ with 5 courses and loads of food for everyone.
It wasn’t fine dining however the food and service was good.
There was also a short, if noisy interlude with a ‘belly dancer’ who encouraged two of our party to take part in the entertainment.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jp3522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

good food, lovely staff, amazing dancer.

Our group of 8 were all pleased with our meals - both quality and quantity. Service was quick and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Outbound76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

We had 3 nights in Brisbane and found Mado on our last evening- and we were so glad we did!

Food was lovely and service was friendly and helpful - atmosphere was relaxed and chilled too. Porterhouse steak was lovely and my husband enjoyed his mixed grill too

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank helmatt2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MADO Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to MADO Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.