We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Warm Hospitality & Amazing Cuisine!”

MADO Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 4,950 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 18
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2019

Reserved a table for three for lunch for Friday 9th August 2019 through the ever-gracious manager Müge. Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Başak. Additionally, Umut, one of the co-owners/directors personally came to our table and greeted us and talked with us briefly.

Our hostess Başak who waited upon us was very pleasant and courteous and most attentive, as always. Her service was exemplary. We enjoyed the entrée of freshly-baked Turkish bread with three different delightful dips, kindly served by Başak.

For our main meals, we ordered 3 platters of Karişik Izgara (Mixed Grill) – a platter for each of us. Mado’s Mixed Grill is par-excellence – sumptuous, flavoursome and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed a leisurely lunch in a beautiful ambience, evocative of our memorable visits to Turkey. After our main meals, we were kindly served Turkish apple tea. Absolutely delightful touch!

Hasan, the other co-owner/director, and Başak waved us goodbye as we left, and we vowed to return to this impeccable restaurant soon. It comes as no surprise as to why Mado Restaurant was awarded the coveted and well-deserved “Australia’s Best Turkish Restaurant Award” a few years back.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pragasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan C, Owner at MADO Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Thank you for your excellent review. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We always strive to uplift our standards and ensure to be very consistent in the quality of the product we deliver. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2019

A few friends wanted to re-live our trip to Turkey so decided on a night at Mado. It was fantastic - the food was superb in that simple but O so tasty Turkish way - the shish kebabs, the veggies, the mince dishes. Fabulous felafals too. Just superb. I really liked the unpretentious atmosphere and the fun local Turkish kids were having there with their families. A refreshing change from some of the more stuck up places at Southbank! We'll be back again and again!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan C, Owner at MADO Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was amazing! We do our best to make our customers feel as though they truly are in Turkey. Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you in Mado soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

We ate here whilst staying in Brisbane for a few days. Can’t fault the quality of the food, it was of a very high standard, and with plenty of flavour. We started with the beetroot dip, and haloumi, followed by the mixed grill platter and moussaka. The moussaka in particular was extremely good. Only niggle that we had was that our main courses were brought out before we had finished our entrees. A little bit of a slip up, otherwise an enjoyable dinner and a nice, relaxing atmosphere on a Sunday evening.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank pdockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan C, Owner at MADO Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. See you soon Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

We visited this restaurant with 20 family members for a 30th birthday party!

It was great - plenty of seating - plenty of food - plenty of atmosphere.

I had the Chargrilled Barramundi - it was excellent!

I would recommend this restaurant for large and small groups and even a special night out.

Loved the customer service and family feel!!!

Wasn’t a fan of the cold and warm hue fusion of lighting in the restaurant (like the warmer hue). But that’s about it!

I will be back! I also really want to try the Kream Karamel!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank KyrinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan C, Owner at MADO Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Thank you for your review! We do our best to impress our customers and give them a true Turkish experience here at Mado. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2019 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner here! Extremely friendly and attentive service! I am a pretty picky eater and asked lots of questions and asked for the dish to be changed slightly and they were extremely accommodating and understanding! My meal was absolutely delicious! The closest I have found to being authentic here in Brisbane! I would totally recommend this restaurant and the next time I am in brisbane I will definitely be heading to this restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Struthme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan C, Owner at MADO Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Thank you for your review! We aim to provide the best food and service we possibly can. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MADO Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to MADO Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.