We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

From the staff to the room to the roof top bar and the restaurant for an anniversary dinner and breakfast this little boutique hotel was an excellent stay.
Relaxing stay at the end of a heck trip, no need to leave once we arrived. Will be on the list of places to stay in Brisbane going forward. Well appointed room with a tub to stretch out in and soak.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolandie H, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Dale Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was so pleasing to see that we could be your 24 hour oasis after a long trip.

It was also lovely to see that you will be looking to stay with us again when you next visit Brisbane.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Set back from busy Brunswick Street in Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, the Balfour has taken an old Queenslander and converted it to a luxury small hotel. Rooms are small but superbly fitted in contemporary designs, themed in black grey and white. Meals are served on the balcony, and on tropical summer days and nights the frangipani blooms make you feel you are in a luxury sub-tropical paradise.

In recent times, Spicers have added the Simla, two doors up to give more accommodation options.

Parking can be challenging.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolandie H, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Kevin K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the alfresco dining option to your liking. It was also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the contemporary design set within an old style Queenslander, something the design team work hard to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed in Suite 13 at Spicers Balfour Hotel. It was absolutely superb. Faultless. The bed was a dream (excuse the pun) the furnishings and fittings excellent. Equal to any thing in Europe. The breakfast which was included in the tarrif was one of the best we have had.The special way the eggs were cooked were great and the BACON was fantastic.

Room Tip: Suite 13 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolandie H, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Sue G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was so pleasing to read your review, especially your use of the word faultless. Moreover, saying that we are equal to anything in Europe is tremendous praise!

It was also fantastic to see that you thought the breakfast was one of the best you have had, it is certainly one of the cornerstones of the Balfour experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brisbane.

Warm regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Such a special hotel, absolutely gorgeous, filled with every single item you could possibly need. Slept like a baby in the extremely comfortable bed. It has a beautiful bathroom and lounge area, with a small terrace. Very good location - you can walk everywhere.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lavinia1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolandie H, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Lavinia1001,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was so nice to read your comments in that you clearly appreciated all the small touches we provide to make the guest experience a truly memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6811
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I loved this hotel. We stayed here last minute having been delayed on a flight. Our greeting was really warm and although our room was small the bed was very comfortable. The honesty bar on the terrace was a really cool touch. We grabbed drinks as it suited us and it felt like a really sensible solution for a boutique hotel. Breakfast had some options I'd never seen on a breakfast menu before which was fun. Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolandie H, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was lovely to see that we could provide a little haven for you during what was no doubt a stressful event with your flights. It was also pleasing to read that you appreciated the honesty bar system, something we feel sets us apart form other establishments.

We hope to see you again when you are next in Brisbane.

Warm regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.3 km away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,209 reviews
1.3 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.5 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.3 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
2,901 reviews
1.2 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brisbane

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#2 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $200 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Prestigia, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Balfour Hotel Brisbane, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing