We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy choice for food and view!”
Review of The Cliffs Cafe

The Cliffs Cafe
Ranked #27 of 342 Coffee & Tea in Brisbane
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Easy choice for food and view!”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I've been there twice now - once for a solo breakfast and once for a lunch meetup with a colleague.

FOOD - yummy! reasonably priced (not cheap but not too expensive for a treat), very tasty food. Breakfast wrap the first time, and the salmon fish cakes with a bean salad.

COFFEE - very good.

SERVICE - always happy, smiling service, efficient.

AMBIENCE - wonderfully situated at the top of the Kangaroo Point cliffs with a view over the river and the CBD, perfect.

Only niggle is (if flying solo) finding a table first, then joining the queue to order, paying and then finding someone else has just sat down at your table and is about to order, as you've not wanted to leave something unattended in order to 'reserve' that table.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoenix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    69
    39
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok food, good service, Great view!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Food is a little exy, however the staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Best feature of this cafe, is the beautiful view of Brisbane city and of the Brisbane River. Noticed a lot of people on the River to from here, so I thought I'd check out where they were coming from. An old building down by the river rents out kayaks, so if you get the chance, make an effort to get down the stairs and check it out- was called Riverlife adventures. Try the cliffs burger too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, ok food, lousy service”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The good: the view from the cafe is one of the best in Brisbane - sweeping 180 degree views of the river, the botanic gardens and the city. Absolutely magnificent.
The cafe is within walking distance from the city, Fortitude Valley and South Bank.

The bad: The food was not the worst I've had, but certainly not the best I've had either. The meals did not all come out at the same time, meaning two in the group had fnished before the others got served. Two of the meals were cold when they reached the table, as was at least one of the coffees we ordered. For the menu price, I expected a lot better.

The ugly: Service does not come with a smile here, folks. Our waitress was genuinely rude. We moved the table slightly when we arrived so that we could all fit, only to have one waitress march up and demand to know what we were doing. She then started to drag the table back into place without waiting for us all to get to our feet, meaning she pushed it repeatedly into the stomach of the pregnant member of our group. No apologies after this was brought to her attention. She then proceeded to snarl around our section for the rest of the meal. Staff were clearly struggling to cope with the number of people at the cafe.

The verdict: Give it a miss. Sure, head to the cliffs themselves for the view, but then wander in to the Valley for your meal. This is another prime example of a restaurant that thinks it doesn't have to work hard because it's got location as a drawcard.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlechrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Brisbane Location - a visitors' "must see".”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Outstanding views over the city from vantage point above Kangaroo Point cliffs. Had eggs benedict and coffee, well above average but not excellent. Service friendly but not engaging. Coming back for the great location and easy access.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
182 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“All good.... nice location”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We went for breakfast on a sunday morning... appeared to be pretty busy but got a seat no dramas.... had 2 children as well but it wasn't an issue.... food was well priced and very nice. Would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cliffs Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Cliffs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing