We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
32
23
8
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
23
8
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

What great value! It's like a home away from home. You get a private room which is clean and well kept, it's quiet so you can get a good nights sleep and the facilities include everything you could possibly need. I'd also like to thank the staff as they are really friendly and helpful. The location is central but just far enough away from the madness. It's a great alternative to the crazy inner city hostels and more like a home away from home.

Room tip: The double rooms are probably the best, but all rooms are amazing value compared to other hotels and hostels in Brisbane.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here whilst I was working in Brisbane. I couldn't do the city hostels anymore because I had to be up at 5am for work and staying in party dorms wasn't helping. Minto was perfect for us though!

The building itself is beautiful and the rooms (we stayed in a few) are really well maintained, very comfortable and some come with their own fridges and tv. They are great to relax in.
The communal area has a big tv and lots of books and games.
The wifi is good and fast and cheap if you get it long term.
The kitchen is spacious, clean and has everything you need including free tea, coffee and condiments as well as a few other bits and pieces. There's one washer that's 5 dollars to use and loads of space to hang washing out, including a sheltered area for bad weather (there's a laundrette 2 mins walk away too).
There's a nice deck area to sit and eat/drink/chill with a view of the city.
The bathrooms are always clean, with good hot showers and free shower gel, shampoo, moisturiser and sun cream.
Each room has towels and flannels provided.
The place is really chilled out and quiet which is why it's a good place if your working and just need a place to relax.

Location wise it's brilliant. West end is a fifteen minute walk away and south bank is a ten minute walk. There's a bus stop right outside where the bus will take you through west end and into the city centre.
There's quite a few restaurants 2 mins walk away and a convenience store too.

The staff are amazing. Clarry the owner is really friendly and invited us out for a welcome drink the week we arrived. Jen the manager was fantastic and always made sure we got a good deal on our room whenever we extended our stay and always sorted any issues we had. James the caretaker was really friendly and was always there to help us with anything and Chantelle the cleaner was also really friendly and did a great job keeping the place spotless!

One thing to mention, it is asked the kitchen to be used after 9.30pm to cook as the are rooms just off it and because it's an old building, sound does carry. This never bothered us though and I found as long as I was quiet when making myself something to eat, even at 5am, no one was bothered.

We loved our stay here and were sad to leave. We'll definitely stay again if we're ever in Brisbane.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank the_phil_read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Good location. With walking distance to West End and Parkland. The guest room and bathroom were all very clean and neat. The only problem was that we'd booked the room via Booking.com but it hasn't specified it was a bunk bed room. Otherwise we could have avoided the squeaky bunk beds. The kitchen was fully equipped and well maintained. Although signage telling you to keep noise down seemed very meticulous, considered the building was old and the walls were thin, was understandable. The people we'd encountered during our stay, no matter the staffs or guests, were all very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank imgoin2ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Nothing special. Rooms are small with dated bunk beds. Kitchen is well equipped however, as the countless signs decorating the walls will tell you, you are not allowed to cook, use the kettle or sink after 9:30pm. Not really great if you're in town for work and finish late. Over the road is a 24hr convenience store and a few takeaway restaurants.
Surrounding area of hostel is rough looking and there were lots of homeless, drunks and druggies roaming the street in the evening. Nearby park is full of them too.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Clarry very helpful....only needed to stay one night. Friendly patrons and also helpful.
Were in room 4 which is at the front of the home but not woken by traffic. Comfy bed...this is a great place to stay if staying late in the city and need the ambiance of home!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clarelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews