We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kookaburra Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra on Queen(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sportsman Hotel(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
136
108
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
108
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomfree tea and coffeefortitude valleycommunal kitchenlarge supermarketfriendly place to stayquiet streetminute walkdouble roomcommunal areasfree wifistayed here for a weeksingle bedwithin walking distanceother guestsa lovely stayenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here for a night while in Brisbane. Location was convenient for walking around town. The room was very comfortable and there were plenty of bathrooms in the place, all very clean. There was a nice outdoor area to relax in as well. Overall, would recommend as a good budget option in Brisbane.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shiri1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I stayed at Kookaburra Inn for four nights while visiting Brisbane with friends. My room was clean and secure, and besides the single bed had a desk, bar fridge, sink, mirror and tall narrow "bookshelf" where you can store items that you want to access easily without tripping over them. While there was a bit of noise around, it was quiet despite being close to fully booked. The shared kitchen was neat and clean, with a microwave, electric kettle, plates, glasses, cutlery etc, and everything you need to clean up after yourself. The shared toilet and showers were clean and easy to access. There was a laundry, though I didn't need to use it. The parking is on-street, and close, though much of it is pay-parking during working hours unless you have one of the passes from the office ($50 deposit). It's within easy walking distance of the city centre, with supermarkets, restaurants and shops all very accessible (as long as a slight hill doesn't challenge you). The free internet was a bit slow at times, but fast enough for basic browsing and very convenient and useful.

Room Tip: If you have any kind of mobility issue with steps or stairs, let the staff know when booking.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nsecomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

I stayed for about a week, and was in Brisbane on business. It is not really a "backpackers"....the guests when I was there were mainly middle aged and quiet, even when some folks came in for an Origins game. The internet is great- good enough for skype and streaming. My room was clean, has an individual frig and sink, so I did my own breakfast every day and some lunches and even dinners. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Overall, my stay was a pleasure and I would stay here again if I am back in Brisbane

Room Tip: I was in room 9, just off an almost private outdoor patio...and it was great
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

The staff is very helpful and kind. The room was comfortable, with enough space, aircon and a little shrink. Good free internet connection. All the common areas were very clean, the kitchen is fully equiped and coffe and tea are available. There's a TV room and some books and also some outdoors spaces to chill. Laundry and dryer cost 4AUD. Very comfortable place at a just 10m walk from central station.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GemmukiKuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookaburra-inn, Manager at Kookaburra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

thank you very much for your review.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday
kind regards, wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I stayed at Kookaburra for roughly a week. There is nothing fancy about the inn, but it has everything you need, it's comfortable, and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. Depending on the other guests it can be a little loud at night, but it never actually bothered me or interfered with my sleep. The beds are comfortable, there is a sink in the room, and I never had to wait on the shower although that will depend on your own timing. There is a kitchen, dining room, TV room, laundry facilities, etc. on site that are all freely usable by occupants, and there is a grocery store, convenience store, and a number of restaurants all within a short walk from the inn. Don't stay here if you're looking for something pristine or fancy, but highly recommended if you're looking for an affordable and comfortable place to kick back for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews