We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$115
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Algotels
Agoda.com
AU$112
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
146
146
44
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
146
44
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast quiet street a king size bed plunge pool night stay stayed two nights yogurt guest laundry room was spacious per day minute walk good size mitchell street car park pleasant stay central location cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2023

This hotel is very good, rooms really clean, generally quiet and set up well. We stayed both before (room 710) and after (room 513) a Kakadu Tour. The hotel was also kind enough to store our excess luggage for no change.
The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the CBD but just around the corner is a brilliant Chinese Restaurant.
Check in and out was excellent with very friendly staff. A minor problem with the blind in our room was quickly solved by Anna.
The towels and hot water were plentiful and we had really good sleeps. Breakfast was continental but served by an older Asian lady with a very happy smile.
I must make comment - not negative - about the bathroom in 513. It is huge guessing about 4 square metres BUT there is only a small wash basin opposite the door with no or little shelving. The shower is to the left of the door and when used covers about a quarter of the floor. This prevents direct access to the toilet without getting your feet wet so we had to lay a path of towels between the toilet and the door. The light is sensor movement automatic and took ages to switch off with the fan during the night.
Whoever designed this room was probably a student in their first week out of school.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again but not in 513.

Room tip: If you have an early start you can get breakfast from about 5.15 am
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Dear wizardoldman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide you amazing feedback!
We really appreciate your great comments and for noting all the facilities that we offer to our guests.
Thank you also for the lovely comments regarding our team’s friendliness and excellent service, we will be sure to pass onto all.

With regards to room 513, this room is certified as a disability access room, with the open space allowing ease of access for those who require it.
We appreciate your feedback however, and have noted for any possible future improvements.

We are delighted that this didn’t impact your overall stay, and we would love to welcome you and your wife back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
CathyA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

I stayed at the Argus Hotel in the centre of Darwin last month (May) for 4 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. My room on the 6th floor was nice and modern and had a great view of Darwin Harbour from my private balcony. Just a pity that the hotel has no restaurant or cafe apart from the breakfast dining room. The Thai restaurant which used to be right next door to the hotel closed down. The only place now is a Chinese restaurant around the corner, which has nice quality dishes.

Room tip: Smoking is not allowed anywhere in the hotel, including private balconies. Unfortunately my next door neighbour was smoking on his balcony all the time - v. annoying.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 994mikejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Dear 994mikejb,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and view.

Unfortunately, Green Chillies Darwin made the arduous decision to cease operations onsite a few months ago.
However, as you pointed out, Loong Fong Chinese and Seafood Restaurant, is less than a minutes’ walk away from the hotel.

We are currently working on a replacement food service, and hope to have something in place by the new year.

Hoping you return soon.

Warm wishes,
CathyA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023

We had a very nice stay at the Argus Hotel. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The lady, who looked after breakfast was very well organised & she always had a very friendly smile. The location was very central; close to the shops & the waterfront.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Els H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Dear 73elsh,


Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely comments.

We are delighted to see that you found our amazing hardworking team friendly and helpful, and that our location was convenient for your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2023

Well, we arrived at the Argus at the end of a long day of travelling ... we were both hungry and thirsty ... So our first question was can we get a drink or something to eat in the hotel .?..... "NO ... But we can do room service
" ... That's fine said I , and the receptionist handed us a menu from a local Chinese takeaway !!! That is what they call room service here ...
The room itself was very clean but also very clinical, bare white walls , no personality at all .... this is not a hotel where you come for a holiday , it's a place to sleep and move on ... The hotel described our room as "Superior double, with Juliette balcony offering views across the city ...... We had a view across their extractor ducting pipes and a derelict corrugated metal shack ....we could see the top few floors of a distant apartment block , perhaps that was the city ?
To be fair, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was ok ,although extremely basic ... Toast, Cereals or fruit ...... plus drinks, thats it ..
Luckily our stay here is very short , we only came to Darwin to catch the Ghan ... It's isn't the prettiest of cities ..

Room tip: Try somewhere that has food and drink on offer
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris-Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Dear Chris-Mansfield,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Unfortunately, the onsite restaurant made a challenging last-minute decision to cease operations at our property recently. We do apologise that you weren’t made aware, as we have previously contacted all advertising avenues to have this information updated.

As a city hotel, we do advertise having city views, as opposed to harbour views. We can certainly take requests for high floor allocations, for guests preferring expansive views overlooking the city.

Our light continental breakfast is a complimentary service provided to all our guests; we are sorry that this didn’t meet your expectations.


Whilst our humble city may not be the prettiest city to some, it is certainly the friendliest, warm, and charismatic place in the Top End, with plenty to see and do.
We hope that you could venture back and explore what the NT has to offer.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

My stay here was marred by the unnecessarily long check in process involving paperwork that could have been done electronically during the booking process - and my ongoing annoyance at being charged an additional $100 security bond at check in. All in the middle of the night, for a prepaid booking. Was assured the $100 would be refunded the next day, but 5 days later it hasn't been. Phoned the reception to enquire and was told by a rude receptionist that it was my banks problem and that they are entitled to charge this fee "in case I damaged the room". I haven't ever been charged more than a $1 holding fee before, so am not impressed with this "management policy", particularly given the room was prepaid.
The actual room was clean and comfortable, a light breakfast is included which is good value. Parking is an additional charge - it would be very difficult to park here with a large 4WD, the spaces are tiny. I'm really disappointed that the management processes seem to be all about not trusting guests and making staying there a complex process...it's actually a nice hotel that is thoughtfully set up for short stay travellers, but I left with a bad feeling and feel sorry for the night reception staff who have to enforce "policy". Everywhere these days there are signs up about abuse not being tolerated...being combative towards paying customers isn't helpful.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Dear NT_tripper

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Our apologies that your visit was not to your expectations.

When booking through a 3rd party agent, oftentimes your details are masked, and therefore not onforwarded to the hotel. This is the reason why they are requested by the property on check in.

It has been a long-term policy of the property to request a damage deposit on check in and, the following is noted on all booking sites:
“A damage deposit of AUD 100 is required on arrival. This will be collected by credit card. You should be reimbursed within 7 days of check-out. Your deposit will be refunded in full via credit card, subject to an inspection of the property.”

Payment of the room covers the stay; it doesn’t cover any potential damage that may be caused during that time. Unfortunately, it is impossible to know when there will be an issue, which is why this is requested by all guests.

Every hotel has their own policy, and it is very common throughout the industry worldwide.

We again apologise for any miscommunications, and are pleased that the rest of your stay wasn’t impacted by this.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you should require anything further.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews