We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! ”
Review of Moorish Cafe

Moorish Cafe
Ranked #9 of 395 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: USD 12 - USD 42
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Moorish Café is adorned with exotic aromas, local artistry, banquette seating and a new modern look with exquisite tables and comfy chairs to truly savour the ambience. Darwin's ten-time Gold Plate Awards winner is also playing with more vivacious flavours from Spain and North Africa. The fascinating menu, features fresh local ingredients, hosts over 30 different tapas with edgy additions like the Grilled sumac spiced NT barramundi with bloodless bloody Mary and the King Salmon and Sichuan pepper pâté with fennel confit. To compliment a drop from the acclaimed cellar of older vintages try the Baharat spiced kangaroo fillet with pickled beetroot, smoked chat potatoes and goat cheese sauce, grilled NT Goldband Snapper fillet with roasted cherry tomatoes and chunky chips, sumptuous slow-cooked tagine or Dukkah crusted Black Angus eye fillet on sweet potato mash with bone marrow and red wine reduction. From private function feasts to intimate dinners for two, Moorish Café creates something delectable for every taste.
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Had a great night at Moorish. Food was great, staff fantastic. Great service Egliss and Gertrude. Lots of fun and excellent food. Desserts were awesome too. Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank Jojoviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 408 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2016

Had tapas at this great Darwin restaurant. Can really recommend the choice of tapas with the house red wine and amazing desserts. Go early and book first to ensure that you get a table. Had a table in an alcove with no trouble with noise which I know others have commented on. Scallops and belly pork were our favourites. We will return!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Our family dines at Moorish one a week in addition to my social lunches.
It is our most favourite restaurant where food is consistently delicious, prepared perfectly with the best ingredients.

Our all time favourites are:
Haloumi bruschetta with sun dried tomato North African meatballs
Grilled chorizo
Seared scallops with pomegranate & coriander
Grilled NT gold band snapper fillet with chermoula butter, roastedcherry tomatoes on the vine and chunky chips

Great Sangria
Wonderful service
Reasonably priced

Mark and Gertrude have consistently been delivering delightful food skilfully designed by Mark.

Date of visit: May 2016
3  Thank DiemTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here. Very welcoming great friendly service. Stunning food- tagine of the day was lamb sooo tender. Yummy deserts. A thoughtful food and drinks menus. I'm going back there to try the tapas!

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank JennyRossKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Tuesday night walked past 3 other Restaurants on the way not many customers. Arrive at Moorish for a 700 booking and it is full . Staff are all friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and filling 7 tapas between the 2 of us it was just the right amount

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moorish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.