We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of The Noodle House - CLOSED

The Noodle House
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First time here for a long time. Service was excellent and food truly delicious. Only downside is that it is slightly on the pricy side. However, the portions are very large and you can easily order two thirds of what you expect to eat. We ordered what we thought we would need and took a whole dish away as a take away for the next day.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

There are two Noodle Houses in Darwin, the other one is larger and is in Mitchell Street. Formally the Knuckey Street address had the better chefs but a smaller kitchen and menu but it appears that the better chefs have now gone to the Mitchell Street restaurant. I have eaten there often over the years but I have found that the food quality has declined over the last couple of years and it is not as good as previously though it is cheaper than the other restaurant.
There is a fairly extensive menu and the service is ok, so long as you are not there during the peak times. A good place for a lunch time meal or at night if you want a meal before going out. The surroundings are basic and it is not a place to go to if you want a romantic evening with your beloved.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Good food, fair prices, good location. Nice setting, especially outside. Good for special occasions as well as romantic dinner or just dinner with mates. Try the Thai fried fish or the Crispy Beef in Chilli Plum Sauce!! yum!!

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alphacentauriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

For AUD$65 we got four mini spring rolls, three pork mince puffs, satay chicken, crispy beef in plum sauce, steamed rice for two and two cans of coke.

Having read some of the reviews on this site, our expectations were high.

The entree's and mains were very bland. The texture of the satay was slimy. The plum/chilli sauce was dry and almost tasteless except for the occasional bit of chilli.

Two points for the steamed rice and cans of diet coke.

If this restaurant was in my home town, my first visit would be my final visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phiz_1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Having spent a lot of time in Beijing and sampling the fabulous duck dishes there I was reluctant to try the peking duck option at the noodle house, we we not disappointed though the quality was as good as we have had in china, some of the other dishes are not as good but the noodle house is trying to cater to the western palate instead of being true to itself, but I don't know a Chinese restaurant out of Chinatown who would dare to either, well worth a try If u fancy Chinese cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bds2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Noodle House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing