We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed for a total of 5 nights in August. Located on the Esplanade the hotel is ideally located for exploring Darwin. We wanted to stay in a hotel that was different to the normal chain hotels & stayed in one of the garden bungalows & pleased we did. The hotel grounds are quite compact. It has a nice pool area & we found the hotel very quiet despite its proximity to a road. The room was clean & comfortable & had a patio with BBQ. Our only disappointment was that there was very little wardrobe/drawer space. Having said this I would certainly stay again if visiting. Laundry facilities are available onsite which was a bonus. A positive feature we're the Staff, they couldn't have have been more friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose a garden bungalow which offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

51 - 55 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Right in the CBD and not far from the waterfront, this place is always very clean and tidy. If you are the sort of person that takes a morning walk, there is a park directly opposite with great harbour views.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D6132JSianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed in a tropical villa, a separate 'bungalow', with its own deck, garden and parking space, and view out to the street and park. So much better than staying in just another hotel, and it was so central to downtown. You could even have your own barbecue.

Room Tip: Choose a tropical villa: you get your own cabin, with deck and garden and parking space
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Had an overnighter and loved this hotel. Location simply can't be beat-- just off the Main Street and a short walk to the waterfront. Room was clean and neat and you can pull the curtains right back for lots of light and has a private balcony too. Or you can shut it all up for the air con to work its magic. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Darwin.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank SGontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a beautiful little Garden Villa near the pool -it was a heavenly lush place. Raja at Reception was the ultimate in care and respect for our comfort during our stay. The bed was comfortable -the place beautifully clean, we loved it. It beat staying in a High Rise Hotel by miles!! Wonderful walks from the door!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#2 of 36 in Darwin
2,082 reviews
0.5 km away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#6 of 36 in Darwin
1,004 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
2.4 km away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#15 of 36 in Darwin
829 reviews
0.6 km away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#8 of 36 in Darwin
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#4 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $83 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015, 2016 & 2017! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths or Private plunge spas, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the Villas and Bungalows are surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, buffet breakfast cafe, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentary luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing