We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!”

Kimberley Adventure Tours
Ranked #7 of 116 Tours in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating in both directions between Broome & Darwin and Darwin & Broome, Kimberley Adventure Tours offer the ultimate wilderness adventure giving you a complete taste of the real outback Australia. Our tours of Kimberley, Australia may be the most fun you will ever have. This is a serious adventure tour with plenty of action including hiking and swimming. Travel with other like-minded people with a sense of adventure. Small groups in 4WD vehicles. Experience campfires and swags and visit the Bungle Bungles, Gibb River Road, Lake Argyle & much more.
Reviewed 4 December 2016

My Mum and I had one of the best trips we could have asked for, the 9 day tour from Broome to Darwin. Our guide, Tommy was very knowledgeable and made everyone feel comfortable straight away. He was an amazing chef cooking up some culinary delights in the camp ovens such as sundried tomato damper and even some fennel roast pork. We got into our routine of off loading and loading up the trailor very quickly so that we could be the first of the day to see some amazing sights. So many opportunities to see the exclusive, "off the beaten track" spots and have them all to ourselves.The Kimberley landscape is to die for, the hikes were so worth it especially when there was a very inviting waterfall or a rope swing at the end! Some highlights were exploring the indigenous paintings, licking the little citrus ants bottoms, Lake Argyle camping, and meeting the awesome people we shared the truck with. Thanks for making our Mother Daughter escape active, fascinating, entertaining, relaxing and overall just amazing. Would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lake argyle"
in 40 reviews
"bush camping"
in 34 reviews
"bungle bungles"
in 24 reviews
"camp fire"
in 23 reviews
"manning gorge"
in 14 reviews
"tunnel creek"
in 11 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 15 reviews
"awesome group"
in 5 reviews
"whale sharks"
in 5 reviews
"cooking skills"
in 5 reviews
"bell gorge"
in 5 reviews
"true bush"
in 3 reviews
"cliff jumping"
in 3 reviews
"cable beach"
in 5 reviews
"roast lamb"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful region"
in 3 reviews
"el questro gorge"
in 3 reviews
Filter

152 - 156 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I honestly can't recommend Kimberley Adventure Tours highly enough, it was the perfect way to experience an incredible part of the country. I'm a 20-something solo traveller and our group, traveling Darwin to Broome, consisted of another solo traveller in her 20s and two families of four, with ages ranging from 11 to 50+.

The small group size (10 plus our awesome tour guide Tommy) allowed us to travel in a 4x4 troopie rather than a big bus and meant that the whole trip was completely flexible, tailored to suit our group's particular interests and preferences. Whether you have a keen interest in capturing those iconic outback photographs, learning more about indigenous culture, birdwatching, sunrise treks, moonlight walks, or just want to enjoy the breathtaking scenery and incredible gorges and waterfalls, Tommy's experience and local knowledge meant that he knew the perfect spots to take us each day to accommodate everybody. As a group we agreed that we preferred camping off the beaten track away from any campsites ("do you wanna go bush, or do you wanna go bush bush?") so we were able to sleep in swags under the stars in very remote places for 7 out of the 9 nights which was an incredible experience (and during the 2 nights at proper campsites we were extra appreciative for the running water and toilet facilities!).

Daily tasks such as collecting firewood and building the campfire, setting up and re-packing the camp, helping with food prep and washing the dishes were all shared between the group and as cheesy as it may sound, we really did feel like one big family unit in no time, more like we were on a road trip than a tour.

As the website says, this is Kimberley Adventure Tours not Kimberley Luxury Tours so you should expect a back-to-basics type trip, but it never felt that anything was being scrimped on. Swags and tents were clean and comfortable, the troopie was well-equipped in case of emergencies and I don't think I've ever eaten so well in my life! We had three large meals per day plus heaps of snacks available for the journey to keep us going. Each evening meal was cooked on the campfire and Tommy managed to rustle up everything from Thai curry and Spag Bol to a Spinach and Ricotta tart and even a full roast dinner!

The Gibb River Road is notoriously bumpy terrain so you will feel like your bones have been rattled a bit at times, but exploring this area on an organised tour with an experienced guide took out all of the stress of attempting to plan and navigate the journey and we always felt like we were in safe hands.
This tour would be great for foreign tourists and Australians alike, of any age providing that you have an average level of fitness and are willing to get stuck in.
It's an experience not to be missed and since finishing the tour I have been recommending Kimberley Adventures to anyone who will listen!

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank Compass440503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Go with an open mind and be rewarded beyond your expectation. Our guide Travis was a star, as was everyone else on the tour.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank coletf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I went on the 9 day tour from Darwin to Broome starting on the 20th of OCT 2016. I cannot begin to explain how perfect this tour is for seeing the Kimberley- you are totally immersed in the bush, you go hiking and swimming in amazing landscapes and get to have a real camping experience. Everyone helps out with preparing food, collecting firewood etc and this all adds a great sense of togetherness throughout the trip and its quite sad to leave everyone at the end of the trip. Travis was such a great guide for the duration of our trip- I always felt like we were in good hands every step of the way and he never ceased to amaze us all with his knowledge of all the places we visited. He was an absolute joy to be around for the whole 9 days, made everyone feel totally comfortable and at home and had a great sense of humour, and I honestly don't think I would have had such a great time had it not been for him.

Thanks again to the whole team for putting together such a great tour. I look forward to doing another tour with you guys in the future.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Jiwanjot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

What a fantastic time we had! Tommy was brilliant; he was fun, an excellent cook and had us all involved from the start. He found out our individual interests and then went out of his way to show us those things – birds, flowers, stars, maps, Aboriginal art and culture etc. There was quite an age range in the group – but the youngsters more than pulled their weight and brought out the inner child in the older ones who joined in rope swinging, rock hopping and cliff jumping.

Due to roadside fires, we couldn’t visit the Bungle Bungles as originally planned; however the group collectively made the decision to spend more time around the Gibb River Road rather than rush through and try another route to the Bungle Bungles. This meant we visited Mirima National Park instead, had longer to enjoy bush camping, explore waterfalls and gorges, swim down rivers, relax in thermal pools and generally slow down and enjoy the peace, quiet and scenery of the Kimberley. Tommy also took us to view The Staircase to the Moon when we arrived in Broome – a fitting end to an amazing holiday.

What to bring? - a spirit of adventure, a willingness to be part of a group and an open mind - the original plan doesn't always work out but there are plenty of other opportunities that might be even better. It was fantastic!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kimberley Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kimberley Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing