We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my year!”

Kimberley Adventure Tours
Ranked #6 of 117 Tours in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating in both directions between Broome & Darwin and Darwin & Broome, Kimberley Adventure Tours offer the ultimate wilderness adventure giving you a complete taste of the real outback Australia. Our tours of Kimberley, Australia may be the most fun you will ever have. This is a serious adventure tour with plenty of action including hiking and swimming. Travel with other like-minded people with a sense of adventure. Small groups in 4WD vehicles. Experience campfires and swags and visit the Bungle Bungles, Gibb River Road, Lake Argyle & much more.
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I did the Broome to Darwin tour at the beginning of August. The whole trip was an unforgettable experience, we saw the prettiest sunsets and sunrises, camped in the most amazing settings and swam in beautiful waterfalls. The tour guide Tommy was amazing, really relaxed and felt like an instant friend. He knew everything, and we were able to spend time seeing different things we were all interested, it was just like a tailor made tour. I could not recommend this tour, or this company highly enough. I missed the bumpy Gibb river road, my swag and the camp fire as soon as we finished our tour in Darwin. Thanks for such an excellent trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank davieshannah2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lake argyle"
in 40 reviews
"bush camping"
in 34 reviews
"bungle bungles"
in 24 reviews
"camp fire"
in 23 reviews
"manning gorge"
in 14 reviews
"tunnel creek"
in 11 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 15 reviews
"awesome group"
in 5 reviews
"whale sharks"
in 5 reviews
"cooking skills"
in 5 reviews
"bell gorge"
in 5 reviews
"true bush"
in 3 reviews
"cliff jumping"
in 3 reviews
"el questro gorge"
in 3 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 14 reviews
"australian outback"
in 8 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 16 reviews
Filter

157 - 161 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

We did a private charter with Kimberley Adventure Tours and Tim was our host.

To put it in one word, it was fantastic!

Tim tailored to tour fully to our needs and was absolutely flexible to meet any request we had. Swims in beautiful gorges, exciting night excursions, magnificent evenings by the fire, amazing food.

We would love to come back, anytime.

Alicja & Tobias

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Tobias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi Alicja & Tobias, thanks for taking the time to review your trip.

I'm pumped that you enjoyed it, I had a great time guiding it and enjoyed introducing both of you to the world of bush camping and travelling through remote wilderness areas. I'd love to do it all again one day and look forward to catching up in the future.

Cheers. Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I did the Darwin to Broome tour in mid September, and it was such a fantastic trip!
There were so many beautiful spots - highlights for me were definitely Purnululu National Park, Emma Gorge, El Questro Gorge and Manning Gorge.
Huge thanks to our tour guide Adam Bowen who made the trip so enjoyable and added so much more adventure to the already exciting tour. We were very lucky to have him as he was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and passionate about this job. And he made extra stops on top of those in the itinerary to show us some hidden gems - swimming holes, waterfalls and awesome Aboriginal rock paintings a solo traveller would have never have found themselves!
Thanks again to Kimberley Adventure Tours for a great trip. Will definitely be recommending this tour to other travelers!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessedog, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Hi Kathy, thanks for reviewing your trip, I'm glad you had a great time with Adam and that you enjoyed the style of trip that we offer.

Cheers. Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My son (aged 22) and I (aged 51) are just back from a 9 day trip from Darwin to Broome with Katherine Adventure Tours. And we both had a blast. We hiked and swam in some magnificent gorges, springs and water holes that were just breathtaking. We camped in some really remote bush camps, eating great meals cooked on the camp fire, and woke up to the sound of birds and beautiful serene sunrises. We were less lucky with sunsets and the stars, managing to see them just a couple of nights because of some weather, and even had to deal with a storm one night – so be prepared. We turned off our cell phones and became totally immersed in our surroundings (there was only occasional reception anyway). And we were lucky enough to see quite a lot of wild-life: a variety of birds, freshwater crocodiles, wallabies and wallaroos, bats, goannas, a snake and of course spiders and insects, the rewards of doing things early before everyone else and going to places less walked by others.

We travelled with a great group of people - quite diverse both age wise and nationalities - and it all worked really well. Our guide, Shane – a true blue Aussie, was great: Very passionate about the outback and sharing it all with us. He provided great explanations about the nature, geology and aboriginal culture. He is a really personable guy, and managed to connect with all. And his sense of adventure enabled us to see some things even he was surprised about – notably our dawn walk at one of the gorges to see the freshwater crocs led us to stand in awe watching an amazing number of fruit bats (probably thousands) squawking and flying from one tree to another, and seeing a couple of the larger crocs taking off with some bats that had fallen - a rare sight we were privileged to have seen.

I recommend this trip to anyone with an adventurous spirit, as long as you have a reasonable level of fitness and can walk and scramble over rocks to reach some remote and beautiful swimming holes. I suggest bringing boots or sturdy sandals and also a small bag, all of which you are willing to get wet for a hike where the return path requires swimming.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessedog, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Hi Debbie.

Thanks for taking to the time to review your trip and Shane's guiding skills, sounds the Bat v Croc experience was incredible, wish I had been there for that!

All the best. Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Had the most amazing 9 day tour from Darwin to Broome with tour guide Shane (the best!), and a great bunch of people (9 on tour).
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore the Kimberley region in it's truest and raw form. It is exactly what it says on the tin; 'an adventure'.

Some of the highlights include Edith Falls, plenty of gorge swimming, camping out in swags, campfires, Lake Argyle and swimming with freshies, the Bungle Bungles, Zebidee Springs and El Questro Gorge, and the Manning Gorge walk and swim which includes cliff dives, and Windjana crocs. Most of all the tour was made exceptional by sharing with such a great group of people and the best tour guide imparting lots of wisdom along all of the way, and giving lots of info on the cultural background and significance of this amazing region.

We saw lots of magnificent attractions en route from Darwin in the top end and making our way West along the Gibb river road to finally arrive in Broome finishing the tour with a sunset like no other over Cable Beach, reminiscing about the previous 9 days.
Definitely the best tour I've been on.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Deirdrehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi Deirdreop.

Thanks for the great wrap - "Definitely the best tour I've been on" - it doesn't get much better than that, so glad that you enjoyed Shane as your guide and the KAT style of travelling through the wilderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kimberley Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kimberley Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing