We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every moment”

Kimberley Adventure Tours
Ranked #7 of 116 Tours in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating in both directions between Broome & Darwin and Darwin & Broome, Kimberley Adventure Tours offer the ultimate wilderness adventure giving you a complete taste of the real outback Australia. Our tours of Kimberley, Australia may be the most fun you will ever have. This is a serious adventure tour with plenty of action including hiking and swimming. Travel with other like-minded people with a sense of adventure. Small groups in 4WD vehicles. Experience campfires and swags and visit the Bungle Bungles, Gibb River Road, Lake Argyle & much more.
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We are a family of five who just returned from a great overland adventure from Broome to Darwin. Adam was our guide who is truly passionate about nature, indigenous culture and Australian history. He is a true explorer and his sense of curiosity and fun was contagious and as a result we all threw ourselves into all that the Kimberley region had on offer. We were a varied group of two families and two singles but we worked well together as a team under the often hilarious overseeing of Adam. Highlights for me were sleeping in a remarkably comfortable swag under a canapy of stars, beautiful varied walks, learning about rock art and Indigenous/Australian history and swimming in pristine waterholes. Those brave enough jumped from 8 metre cliffs, swung from swing-ropes and swam an underwater tunnel. We had one hilarious evening which started out starry which then quickly erupted into quite a storm where tents blew away and we all got drenched. Yet, the drama of the event became a highlight of hilarious anecdotes of how each of us 'survived' the storm. We were truly submerged in nature which is great for the soul and also a shake up for your sense of humour. I highly recommend KAT to anyone who wants to reconnect with the sublime Australian bush and their own sense of place in nature. Huge thanks to Adam for keeping us safe and entertained - you are one of a kind!
Cheers Tam

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank tam1tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi Tam, thanks so much for writing a detailed review of your trip and I'm glad you guys had a blast - literally!

As this is a public forum many potential customers use to work out if we are suitable for them, I'd like to explain the situation with children on the tours.

From 2017 we have nominated several tours which fall around the school holiday periods as family trips, on these trips we encourage families with children to travel, the ideal situation is that 2 or 3 families travel on the same tour.

At other times the youngest age we permit is 16, so if you are a family wanting to travel with other families, go for a family nominated date, if you prefer not the travel with children, go for one of the other dates. Dates can be found on our website, look for the link to Family Tours in the footer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lake argyle"
in 40 reviews
"bush camping"
in 34 reviews
"bungle bungles"
in 24 reviews
"camp fire"
in 23 reviews
"manning gorge"
in 14 reviews
"tunnel creek"
in 11 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 15 reviews
"awesome group"
in 5 reviews
"whale sharks"
in 5 reviews
"cooking skills"
in 5 reviews
"bell gorge"
in 5 reviews
"true bush"
in 3 reviews
"cliff jumping"
in 3 reviews
"cable beach"
in 5 reviews
"roast lamb"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful region"
in 3 reviews
"el questro gorge"
in 3 reviews
Filter

165 - 169 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Just returned from a 9 day Darwin to Broome tour with KAT and had such an amazing time. Adam Bowen was our guide and he did an absolutely brilliant job, he's an amazing guide who really knows and loves what he was showing us, and he is a fab cook - we even had roast dinner one night in camp. Really enjoyed Bush camping, hiking and even the swag was comfortable. Definitely exceeded our expectations - a must do experience. Thanks again Adam for an amazing time.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank dommo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Hi dommo, thanks for the review, Adam is is indeed a great guide, glad you enjoyed yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

If you call yourself an Aussie you must get out and check out our "backyard" in the Kimberleys. The Gibb River Road is a quintessential Aussie experience, being home now I miss the red dirt roads, at times sparse scenery on the long drives and the copious amounts of boats. The sights were spectacular and breathtakingly beautiful. If you've been googling and think the photos look amazing- they don't do the real thing justice! Bush camping was a highlight, with no one else around, feeling at one with nature and falling asleep under the stars. Much preferred those nights than at the big camp ground. You would be so tired from the day's activities sleeping in the swag was no issue. Hiking, swimming, rock climbing, rope swinging was all apart of it. No phone reception was another unsuspecting highlight- you really feel yourself being immersed in this relaxed country lifestyle. And the food was unexpectedly fantastic! The condiments box is better stoked than my pantry!! Our guide Heath went above and beyond, literally working all day everyday for 9 days on the tour. He was born for this job! Very knowledgeable guide but makes it fun. He's only on for another season so lock it in. This tour is the best way to check out the Kimberley's if you're not already in the area with all the gear.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Turnerjillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Hey Turnerjillian, thanks heaps for the comprehensive review of your trip, especially pointing out that the good bits of a trip often result from having less stuff, not more. It's a nice change from how most of us (myself included) live int he normal world.

Cheers, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The trip through the Kimberley region was such a great experience. I went from Broome to Darwin and we were a group of nine people. We were a awesome team and had a lot of fun.
I loved to sleep on the floor just in a swag because I was to lazy to put a mosquito doom.
Do bush camping for the hole nine days and cook on the fire.
No comfort, no connnection with the mobile phone, it was so nice.
Just the natur and the silence "amazing"
The gorge like a place in paradise.
Actually for the natur in the kimerley region it's difficult to find the right words, you have to see...
See the milky way, the stars and if you`re lucky some shooting stars.
The Kimberley was greates experience in my life.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Stefanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hi Stefanie, thanks for sharing your experience and the great review. Sounds like you guys had a blast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife and I went on the tour from Broome to Darwin at the end of August and we had a fantastic time! If you want to see the real Australian outback and want a bit more adventure than your stock-standard tour then this is the tour for you! Everyday is a different adventure - sunrise hikes, midnight tunnel walks, swimming through gorges, helicopters rides over mountain ranges, lake cruises and camping on small abandoned islands...the list goes on! We were very fortunate to have the owner, Tim, and new trainee, Shane, as our tour guides and it was awesome to spend time with 2 guys so passionate and enthusiastic about their jobs and their country! We never felt like they were just going through the motions, it felt like they were enjoying the tour as much as we did!
I really couldn't recommend this trip highly enough!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank alshea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyAdventures, Owner at Kimberley Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hi Alan & Aodhnait. Thanks for the fantastic review. I was great to have you 2 on board, I really enjoyed your company and thanks so much for pitching in and helping out, it made mine and Shane's jobs much easier! Good luck with the rest of your time in Oz and the ultimate return back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kimberley Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kimberley Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing