We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$112
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Expedia.com
AU$112
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Destinia.com
AU$105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
212
228
88
30
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
228
88
30
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con corner room king room the ground floor hot breakfast mitchell street car park central location darwin cbd good size walking distance to everything rooms are spacious late checkout close to shops yogurt nice pool waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Reception:
Efficient and pleasant staff.

Room / facilities:
Superior King Room is located on the eastern side of the building and on the 2nd floor.
It is extremely clean, huge in size and has a king bed, sofa bed, single arm chair and still enough room for another king and queen bed. The bathroom is very modern, spotlessly clean, with a spa tub bath, large walk in shower, super thick towels, large hanging area and a large flat screen TV.
The bar fridge inside is quiet thin and does little to cool contents, split system air conditioning and a very large window that does NOT open.

Parking:
Secure, complementary and has lots of space for hotel guests. Car park entry is via the side street off Mitchell street behind and is in between the hotel and the cinema buildings.

Wifi:
Complementary and has great speed.

Conclusion:
Excellent room, and location of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

Letdowns:
Extremely small fridge interior that does not cool terribly well, windows do not open.

Location / Nearby:
The city is at your door step, esplanade is a 5 minute walk.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Fidock, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Good morning Neil,

Thank you. We are happy that you took the time out to give H on Smith Hotel a review, your feedback motivates us to deliver better guest services and experience.

Apologies that you had issues with the fridge and air conditioning, if you could please contact us direct with the room number you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team take a look and rectify these.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Great place good rooms good cafe located centrally staff efficient polite and welcoming The cafe meals were excellent the cafe staff pleasant and efficient although under staffed at times. Menu provided a reasonable variety of selection

Room tip: Seating in the reception very low and if your an older traveller a little had to get out of.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AlantheOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Fidock, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hello Alan,

This review made our day! We are so grateful for your kind words. Thank you for sharing your review with us and the community.
Unfortunately, we are experiencing a staff shortage for our busiest time of the year in Darwin.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Team at H on Smith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

From the minute we walked in the reception staff were very happy and polite. We had requested an early check in which was no problem. Our room was on the first floor, it was of good size and immaculate, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. House keeping was done each day. The pool was great after a big day out and the on-site restaurant was a bonus. Location was fabulous, across the road from taxi rank and 2 minute walk to Woolworths and the bus stop. To be honest we could not fault this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and would definitely stay again :)

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 338alisony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Fidock, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear Alison,

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day.

So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Janine and the Team at H on Smith Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

H on Smith was used by the Luxury Escapes package we were on so choice to extend our stay to 5 nights. Good location to Darwin CBD, but then so is the waterfront accommodation and many others. Staf were friendly and courteous, however not all that effective.
On check in on Friday we were not informed that our room would not be serviced over the weekend, and when it did get one one;y service in our 5 night stay it was to drop off fresh towels and empty the bin only.
Good points....carparking access and complimentary, room size, bed comfortable, quiet form outside noise.
Not so good....floors desperately need vacuuming, air con made a terrible noise like pipes draining.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Craigp0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Fidock, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Good afternoon Craig,

We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and courteous staff and the comfort of your room.
Your review will be discussed at our next operations meeting this afternoon, we apologise for the inconvenience on our housekeeping service delivery during your stay with us.

When you have a spare moment could you please contact us directly to let us know the room number you stayed in and to discuss the issues in more detail.

Thank you for staying at H on Smith Hotel, we hope to welcome you back one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Janine 08 8982 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Good location in the CBD, close to shops, Waterfront, Cullen Bay, restaurants. Hotel good 3-4 star hotel. Staff mostly friendly and helpful. Had a 7 night stay for average of about $164 a night with breakfast included. Breakfast turned out to be a continental breakfast which was poor so only used it twice and ate out instead. Good points, room clean, good size, comfortable bed, off road car parking, nice swimming pool, although small. Bad points, a/c issues, kept turning off, eventually rectified after 3 days, shower would suddenly turn hot, thermostat issues, poor breakfast, lack of lounges/chairs around pool so had to get in quick if wanted to relax around the pool, first floor view from the room window was of a multi story car park.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Fidock, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Good afternoon Paul,

Thank you for your rating and review, our guests feedback is very important to us. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your continental breakfast during your recent stay with us.

With regards to the maintenance issues, I do apologise that it took a while to rectify the air con and shower and have discussed with our maintenance team to ensure the process doesn't take as long in the future.

We are experiencing a very busy time in Darwin, therefore, the pool can get quite busy. We have ordered more sun loungers and new furniture to add more comfort to more guests.

Thank you for staying with H on Smith Hotel, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

The H on Smith Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews