We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food”
Review of Hot Tamale

Hot Tamale
Ranked #64 of 417 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hot Tamale is the Northern Territories premier Mexican Restaurant and Bar located at the beautiful Darwin Waterfront. Our cuisine is driven by a passion for fresh flavourful Latin American fare, with a focus on Mexico City's wonderful street food as will as the Mexican style from Southern California and Texas. Amazing vibrant flavours. Hot Tamale is also home to the Southern Hemispheres largest collection of Tequilas and Mezcals. A wonderful collection that includes some of the finest tequilas you can purchase. Our cocktail list focuses on highlighting the different variations of tequila mixed perfectly to make beautiful cocktails.
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

The waterfront location of this restaurant makes it a verz attractive option after a day of swimming and sunshine. We opted to have drinks and dinner here on two nights during our stay. On both occasions we got great, friendly service and good food. The choice of seating inside, outside under a large roof or on the edge overlooking the garden and swimming area makes this a good option for a variety of preferences.

The food choices are good - especially the beef with the fries as starter. Yum!
On both evenings we visited they had a happy hour. We were surprised that this place was not busier, considering this.

Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi SWGH123, thank you for taking your time to write a review. We work very hard to offer great food and service and are glad you enjoyed your visits with us.
Kind Regards,
Anneliese Grazioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch. Staff were pleasant, prompt service, great choices. Shaded, outdoor eating area as well as indoor air conditioned. Overlooks Darwin Bay & Wharf

Thank ChristineB55Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi ChristineB55Geelong,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you again,
Anneliese Grazioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I have visited twice. The first time, was for dinner and some tequila. It was fantastic! The second time, I went with a Mexican who knew tequila, we had to order four different tequilas as each order could not be found behind the bar. A little disappointing. But, the staff informed me they had just put in a new tequila menu and had moved things around. Ill be going back to check!

Thank Grooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write this review Grooter! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal & our tequila selection! I'm very sorry to here they were unable to find where your chosen tequilas were, a couple of them were new to the team as well. Feel free to let us know before you come in next & i will organise one of our agave experts are there to look after you!
manager@hottamale.net.au
Thanks again! Anneliese Grazioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Compliments to all the kitchen staff, food and presentation was awesome, table service fantastic, a great experience overall.
Chorizo Flip is amazing

1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Jenny, thank you so much for taking your time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience.
Kind regards,
Anneliese Grazioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Our visit was great, we had our 2 year old in tow who was very tired.
The lovely waitress bought over some colours and activity sheet for our tired boy and we ordered the hot margarita jug. OMG it was spicy!! But good ( not very strong on the alcohol)
It took awhile to get the food ordered. I had a mushroom quesadilla and hubby had the chicken enchilada mine was good the enchilada was only average though.
Overall we had a good time and the price was ok too

1  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing