We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling hive”
Review of Hot Tamale

Hot Tamale
Ranked #64 of 418 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hot Tamale is the Northern Territories premier Mexican Restaurant and Bar located at the beautiful Darwin Waterfront. Our cuisine is driven by a passion for fresh flavourful Latin American fare, with a focus on Mexico City's wonderful street food as will as the Mexican style from Southern California and Texas. Amazing vibrant flavours. Hot Tamale is also home to the Southern Hemispheres largest collection of Tequilas and Mezcals. A wonderful collection that includes some of the finest tequilas you can purchase. Our cocktail list focuses on highlighting the different variations of tequila mixed perfectly to make beautiful cocktails.
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Very busy little place. 300 different tequilas, you are bound to get drunk!

Drinks ok, some were very strong!
Food pretty good, burger came with bit of spice. Fish tacos not the best, but done well enough. The Guac was quite good, didn't last long!

1  Thank gracethered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2018

This isn't an authentic mexican experience, but more tex mex - but nice food, good location and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Amr100, we thank you for your time writing the review on what seems to be an overall good experience.

We are confused on the 3 star rating, we never claimed to be authentic Mexican, nor Tex Mex. We are our own style and don't see why we have received lower stars with your comparison to something that we are not even though you enjoyed what we had to offer.

We hope you consider changing your review with this new information, thank you kindly
Anneliese Grazioli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

My wife ordered a Nachos for main. First dish came out partially cold. Got a second one.Hot but the salsa was more tomatoe paste and appeared to be out of a can.The food had no Love and over priced for what was received.

Thank Noel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi Noel, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our very popular nachos. Due to putting cold ingredients on top of the nachos; guacamole, crema, pickled vegetables, pico de gallo, etc. The temperature does change very fast, though we want everyone of our guests to enjoy their experience so we rushed another one out for you.

Our salsa roja is made fresh at Hot Tamale from fresh ingredients as is everything possible from the menu, so once again we are sorry you didn't enjoy it but we do our best with making everything fresh.

Thank you,
Anneliese Grazioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I spotted happy hour tacos at 4pm and couldn’t resist a sangria and a light bite of food. Both came with good speed by happy staff. I inquired about the hot sauce ( house made) and managed to acquire my own batch from the boss himself. It’s fantastic and I’ll definitely return for more of the great food and service

1  Thank Belly131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi Belly131,
Thank you for taking your time to review us, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed our service, drinks & food. We will pass your comments to our Head Chef who arranged the hot sauce for you. Thanks again!
Anneliese Grazioli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic happy hour specials.
Friendly and attentive staff.
Delicious, fresh Mexican food however it is on the more expensive side. It is the quality rather than the quantity that is reflected in the prices.
High chairs available as well as a complimentary colouring in/activity page for kids with crayons provided.
Would recommend to friends and eat here again.

1  Thank Yadeums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review us Yadeums, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hot Tamale. We always try to use fresh & local ingredients so we are glad to see you enjoyed them!
Thanks
Anneliese Grazioli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing