We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty! ”
Review of Hot Tamale

Hot Tamale
Ranked #64 of 413 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: USD 5 - USD 22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hot Tamale is the Northern Territories premier Mexican Restaurant and Bar located at the beautiful Darwin Waterfront. Our cuisine is driven by a passion for fresh flavourful Latin American fare, with a focus on Mexico City's wonderful street food as will as the Mexican style from Southern California and Texas. Amazing vibrant flavours. Hot Tamale is also home to the Southern Hemispheres largest collection of Tequilas and Mezcals. A wonderful collection that includes some of the finest tequilas you can purchase. Our cocktail list focuses on highlighting the different variations of tequila mixed perfectly to make beautiful cocktails.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic happy hour specials.
Friendly and attentive staff.
Delicious, fresh Mexican food however it is on the more expensive side. It is the quality rather than the quantity that is reflected in the prices.
High chairs available as well as a complimentary colouring in/activity page for kids with crayons provided.
Would recommend to friends and eat here again.

1  Thank Yadeums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review us Yadeums, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hot Tamale. We always try to use fresh & local ingredients so we are glad to see you enjoyed them!
Thanks
Anneliese Grazioli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Wait staff were nice and service was quick. Good range of gluten free food. Kids had about 4 options. Meals were rather large. Nice choice of cocktails. Nice family night out.

1  Thank 1Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi 1Lea, thank you for your great review - we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience!
Thanks
Anneliese Grazioli
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Went to Hot Tamale last week for lunch with my husband.
The service that we received by Becca was quick and efficient :)
We ordered the Burito bowl and Carnitas which were both delicious, the meat was juicy and tender.
We didn't order any alcoholic beverages but I must say the drinks menu looked very impressive!
We will be back!

Thank Annabell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, General Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Annabell, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Hot Tamale. We will pass your feedback onto Becca.
Thank you,
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Great Mexican restaurant on the waterfront. Excellent menu and great atmosphere. Food was really good and well priced.

Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Granules2013,
Thank you for taking your time to review our venue. We appreciate your feedback and are very glad you enjoyed yourself.
Thank you,
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

If you are visiting Darwin you simply must visit this fabulous restaurant at the Waterfront. Great attentive service, fantastic food and a great view.

Let the magarita's flow ..

Thanks Becca for a couple of great nights. We wanted to eat somewhere else to get another experience but the service was just toooo awesome!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rinney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Rinney2013,
thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant, we are glad to hear you enjoyed Becca's service. We will be sure to pass this feedback onto her.
Thanks
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing