We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becca queen of Mecico”
Review of Hot Tamale

Hot Tamale
Ranked #23 of 514 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: AU$7 - AU$34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hot Tamale is the Northern Territories premier Mexican Restaurant and Bar located at the beautiful Darwin Waterfront. Our cuisine is driven by a passion for fresh flavourful Latin American fare, with a focus on Mexico City's wonderful street food as will as the Mexican style from Southern California and Texas. Amazing vibrant flavours. Hot Tamale is also home to the Southern Hemispheres largest collection of Tequilas and Mezcals. A wonderful collection that includes some of the finest tequilas you can purchase. Our cocktail list focuses on highlighting the different variations of tequila mixed perfectly to make beautiful cocktails.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

If you are visiting Darwin you simply must visit this fabulous restaurant at the Waterfront. Great attentive service, fantastic food and a great view.

Let the magarita's flow ..

Thanks Becca for a couple of great nights. We wanted to eat somewhere else to get another experience but the service was just toooo awesome!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rinney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Rinney2013,
thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant, we are glad to hear you enjoyed Becca's service. We will be sure to pass this feedback onto her.
Thanks
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2018

Went here with family of 6 for a meal as we were staying in the area and found the staff very poor, the waitress appeared to roll her eyes when we said we wanted to eat inside and not out on the boardwalk. The food came fast when we finally ordered, but waitress was not too forthcoming with to much info on alternate meals as I asked for Beef Tacos and was told only pork or chicken then she left me in mid air as she left our table in a hurry.. In the end I had a hamburger. Fast drinks service but the meals the family thought were average. Not a Mexican type place for me as a result we didn't go back. Maybe we picked a bad night.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristofferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Kristofferson,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our restaurant was not up to our usual high standard. We have held extra staff training to ensure our staff are following our usually helpful procedures. If you had some more detailed feedback on your meals and why you didn't enjoy them we would like to hear it. Please feel free to email us on manager@hottamale.net.au.
Thank you,
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

What a setting to sit on the waterfront and enjoy a fabulous cocktail, eat a beautifully cooked and presented snapper, Thanks you for making our evening fun

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Service
Thank suegE8671FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Sue G,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your evening at Hot Tamale. We hope to see you again soon
Thanks,
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We called in for dinner one night & found very friendly staff, nice warm atmosphere & really good food. Cocktails are pretty god also.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anneliese G, Manager at Hot Tamale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Paulg19688,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed you night of service, atmosphere & food. Thank you for taking your time to write this review!
Kind regards,
Anneliese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The food is not your average Mexican. The menu takes you to great new options. And the tequilas take a whole A4 page but there are more not on the list. Give the popcorn a go!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank louisek233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.